Awards & Recognition The Fab Four September Listens You Mustn’t Miss

 
“Look with thine ears.”—King Lear, Act IV, scene 6

How fitting that the first of these four September LibraryReads has a powerful King Lear connection, with a major opening plot point that takes place during a production of this classic Shakespearean tragedy. Emily St. John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN, and the other three terrific BOT titles appearing on this month’s LibraryReads list, give us the pleasure of doing just that—looking with our ears, and hearing truly terrific writing thanks to award-worthy performances that brilliantly convey these impressive new titles. “Look with thine ears” and experience the sounds of great literature in the way only an audiobook allows.

STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel
read by Kirsten Potter
LISTEN TO A CLIP

LibraryReads Review: “An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.”—Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, NC

“[A] haunting production…brought to life by the versatile Kirsten Potter…She’s a riveting guide…”—AudioFile

“Mandel’s vision is not only achingly beautiful but also startlingly plausible, exposing the fragile beauty of the world we inhabit. In the burgeoning postapocalyptic literary genre, Mandel’s transcendent, haunting novel deserves a place alongside The Road, The Passage, and The Dog Stars.”—Booklist, starred review

“This is a brilliantly constructed, highly literary, postapocalyptic page-turner, and should be a breakout novel for Mandel.”—Library Journal, starred review

THE SECRET PLACE by Tana French
read by Stephen Hogan & Lara Hutchinson
LISTEN TO A CLIP

LibraryReads Review: “French has broken my heart yet again…the tension-filled flashback narratives, relating to a murder investigation in suburban Dublin, will keep you turning pages late into the night.”—Alison McCarty, Nassau County Public Library System, FL

Mesmerizing…French stealthily spins a web of teenage secrets with a very adult crime at the center.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Much more than just a solid whodunit…”—Booklist, starred review

THE DISTANCE by Helen Giltrow 1st in new series!
read by Rachel Atkins
LISTEN TO A CLIP

LibraryReads Review: “Imagine a modern-day Robin Hood who deals not in money, but identity. Karla, the protagonist of The Distance, is a tech guru with a conscience, and the security of several nations dependent on her. This nuanced book kept me on the edge of my seat. I cannot wait until the next one comes out.”—Cathy Scheib, Indianapolis Public Library, IN

“Most of the characters in this highly layered story are duplicitous, but despite the narrative’s complexity, Giltrow keeps it tight and moving.“—Booklist

THE PAYING GUESTS by Sarah Waters
read by Juliet Stevenson
LISTEN TO A CLIP

LibraryReads Review: “You can almost bet that a situation with long-term guests–paying or not–is not going to turn out well…will keep you turning the page to see just how tense things can get, and how far fear and passion can push someone.”—Elizabeth Angelastro, Manlius Library, NY

“[Waters] brings historical eras to life with consummate skill, rendering authentic details into layered portraits of particular times and places…British writer Waters (The Little Stranger) deserves a large audience.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

STUDIO SNEAK PEEK: Actress Juliet Stevenson in the studio recording THE PAYING GUESTS
IMG_2554

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,