LibraryReads Dec 2019
Awards & Recognition SUCH A FUN List! Five December LibraryReads to Recommend on Audio

Wow—another full year of amazing reading recommendations is coming to a close. And before you put on those 2020 New Year’s Eve glitter glasses and leave 2019 behind, throw on some headphones and take note of these five fabulous audiobooks on the December list from the taste-makers that are the LibraryReads voters—ahem, librarians like you! Read why these books are among the top-voted titles and press play to jump right in and experience the magic of a great story. Happy new year—and happy listening!

TOP PICK
LibraryReads Top Pick

Such a Fun Age
Author: Kiley Reid
Read by: Nicole Lewis
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, SUCH A FUN AGE will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.”—Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
Author Kiley Reid

Author Kiley Reid visiting the audio booth at ALA Annual 2019.

A Madness of Sunshine
Author: Nalini Singh
Read by: Saskia Maarleveld
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride. For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.”—Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL

Meg and Jo
Author: Virginia Kantra
Read By: Shannon McManus and Karissa Vacker
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review:Little Women’s March family is brought into the present day. Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer. For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.”—Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
Reputation
LibraryReads Review: “Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all: scandals, affairs, and murder. I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine. For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies.” —Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington, DC
Would Like to Meet
Author: Rachel Winters
Read by: Laura Hobson
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as away to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process. For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie.”—Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Public Library, High Point, NC
NoveList read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

Check out last month’s LibraryReads on audio here.

View the LibraryReads Favorites 2019 here!

Tagged: