LibraryReads Make Great Listens
Awards & Recognition, Collection Development Meet Growing Audio Demand in 2020: Listen to 5 January LibraryReads including the #1 Pick!

Get ready to kick of a new decade with these surefire soon-to-be favorites! Listen to clips now to start off 2020 in the know. The countdown is on…five, four, three, two…

#1 January Pick

Dear Edward
Author: Ann Napolitano
Read by: Cassandra Campbell
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“A dear, dear wondrous novel. Edward is The Miracle Boy, the only survivor of a plane crash. As he struggles to navigate the landscape of his new life, we hear the voices of those who didn’t make it. Napolitano is an amazing writer who deserves a wider audience. For fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (Bill Clegg), The Grief of Others (Leah Hager Cohen), and The Friend (Sigrid Nunez).”—Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

How Quickly She Disappears
Author: Raymond Fleischmann
Read by: Lisa Flanagan
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“In 1941 Alaska, a woman whose twin disappeared 20 years earlier crosses paths with a sinister stranger threatening to reveal the truth of what happened. Does she dare risk what little she has left to save her sister? For readers of moody thrillers such as Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown and The Dry by Jane Harper.”—Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington NJ
NoveList read-alike: Star of the North by David John
Long Bright River
Author: Liz Moore
Read by: Allyson Ryan
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“A compelling literary police procedural set in an opioid ravaged Philadelphia neighborhood and centered on the relationship between two sisters whose lives have taken opposite paths. Your heart will ache as you grow to love the complex, strong, and incredibly vulnerable characters. For readers of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.”—Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
NoveList read-alike: The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh
You Were There Too
Author: Colleen Oakley
Read By: Sophie Amoss and Dan Bittner
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“Mia is happily married to Harrison, but keeps dreaming about another man. One day her path crosses with this mystery man, and the results are devastating. This is a realistic, engrossing love story suited for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”—Danielle Hansard, Public Library of Westland, Westland, MI

LibraryReads Hall of Fame Author

A Long Petal of the Sea
““A sweeping epic grounded in fact. In 1939, a Spanish family escapes the brutal rise of Franco and is brought by poet Pablo Neruda to Chile, only to see that country fall to its own dictatorial regime. Allende shows how, in an often cruel world, refugees can find homes in the hearts of one another. A profound and satisfying novel.”—Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
Read-alike: Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak
Read-alike: Love and Ruin by Paula McLean

Did you miss our December LibraryReads on audio? Check them out here!
Click here for our full collection of LibraryReads on audio.

Tagged: