Browse by Award

CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young Readers 11 Results Download This List For Excel 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 1
cover_9780593584200
Author: Kate Messner | Narrator: Jade Wheeler
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about history's pandemics, from the Black Death to COVID-19. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.During the Black Death in the 14th century, plague doctors wore creepy beake...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780593584200
Add To List
cover_9780593584200
cover_9780593505267
Author: Chrystal D. Giles | Narrator: Chrystal D. Giles and Genesis Oliver
Release Date: November 09, 2021
"This book made me want to step aside, hand over the mic, and listen to Wes. A must-read." --Mariama J. Lockington, author of For Black Girls Like MeBrand-new kicks, ripped denim shorts, Supreme tee--Wes Henderson has the best style in sixth grade. T...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780593505267
Add To List
cover_9780593505267
cover_9780593415528
Author: Alice Wong | Narrator: Alice Wong, Sarah Ann Masse and Anthony Michael Lopez
Release Date: October 26, 2021
Disabled young people will be proud to see themselves reflected in this hopeful, compelling, and insightful essay collection, adapted for young adults from the critically acclaimed adult book, Disability Visibility: First Person Stories from the Twen...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $34
ISBN: 9780593415528
Add To List
cover_9780593415528
cover_9780593415689
In the stunning follow-up to The Talk: Conversations About Race, Love & Truth, award-winning Black authors and artists come together to create a moving anthology collection celebrating Black love, Black creativity, Black resistance, and Black lif...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $28
ISBN: 9780593415689
Add To List
cover_9780593415689
cover_9780593399040
Author: Jeff Zentner | Narrator: Michael Crouch
Release Date: August 10, 2021
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST CHILDREN’S BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES  From the award-winning author of The Serpent King comes a beautiful examination of grief, found family, and young love.Life in a small Appalachian town is not easy. ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $69
ISBN: 9780593399040
Add To List
cover_9780593399040
cover_9780593399187
Author: Areli Morales | Narrator: Areli Morales
Release Date: June 08, 2021
In the first picture book written by a DACA Dreamer, Areli Morales tells her own powerful and vibrant immigration story.When Areli was just a baby, her mama and papa moved from Mexico to New York with her brother, Alex, to make a better life for the ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593399187
Add To List
cover_9780593399187
cover_9780593399224
Author: Melissa Sweet, Brie Spangler and Joyce Scott | Narrator: Joyce Scott
Release Date: June 08, 2021
A moving and powerful introduction to the life and art of renowned artist, Judith Scott, as told by her twin sister, Joyce Scott.Judith Scott was born with Down syndrome. She was deaf, and never learned to speak. She was also a talented artist. Judit...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593399224
Add To List
cover_9780593399224
cover_9780593461013
Author: Julie Leung | Narrator: Feodor Chin
Release Date: June 08, 2021
Winner of the American Library Association's 2021 Asian/Pacific American Award for Best Picture Book! An inspiring picture-book biography of animator Tyrus Wong, the Chinese American immigrant responsible for bringing Disney's Bambi to life.Befo...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593461013
Add To List
cover_9780593461013
cover_9780593343715
Author: Safia Elhillo | Narrator: Christopher Myers and Safia Elhillo
Release Date: March 02, 2021
LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD “Nothing short of magic.” —Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X From the  acclaimed poet featured on Forbes Africa’s “30 Under 30”...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780593343715
Add To List
cover_9780593343715
cover_9781524777999
Author: Tamara Bundy | Narrator: Catherine Taber
Release Date: July 04, 2017
“A memorable and lovely debut.”--Kirkus Reviews   “Walking with Miss Millie is full of subtle wisdom. Its ending is satisfying though sobering and there are elements of this story that stay with you long after the l...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9781524777999
Add To List
cover_9781524777999
cover_9780385361637
Author: Gennifer Choldenko | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Release Date: August 20, 2013
Alcatraz Island in the 1930s isn't the most normal place to grow up, but it's home for Moose Flanagan, his autistic sister, Natalie, and all the families of the guards. When Moose's dad gets promoted to Associate Warden, despite being an unlikely can...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $47
ISBN: 9780385361637
Add To List
cover_9780385361637