Collection Development Listeners’ (Heat) Advisory: The Hottest August Audiobooks

There’s so much to love on audio this August, patrons will be too busy listening to notice how quickly summer is passing us by! From beach listens to business inspiration, to a beloved TV star’s audio debut, a captivating series finale, and SO much more…now is the time to dive in to your audio collection to check your holds for these standout listens coming soon!

Veep actress Anna Chlumsky Reads Much-Awaited Historical Fiction

Inland
Author: Téa Obreht 
Read By: Euan Morton, Edoardo Ballerini and Anna Chlumsky
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
Six-time Emmy nominee Anna Chlumsky (her sixth nomination was just announced on 7/16!) is joined by award-winning narrators Euan Morton and Edoardo Ballerini in acclaimed novelist Téa Obreht’s second book, sure to be a memorable listening experience.

“Obreht inventively and scathingly dramatizes the delirium of the West—its myths, hardships, greed, racism, sexism, and violence—in a tornadic novel of stoicism, anguish, and wonder.”—Booklist, starred review

Listeners’ Advisory: Téa Obreht’s first book, National Book Award finalist The Tiger’s Wife was an acclaimed audiobook. “Duerden and Sachs masterfully portray their respective characters and express their stories, conveying the gorgeous prose and ensnaring listeners with haunting tales, past and present.”—Booklist, starred audio review

The Finale of a Favorite Series

The Girl Who Lived Twice
Author: David Lagercrantz
Read by: Simon Vance
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
The sixth Lisbeth Salander story—the crime-fiction phenomenon that has sold more than 90 million copies worldwide. Get ready for major holds.

Series audio praise: “Series narrator Vance provides his usual splendid performance…managing the relentless pace and twisted plot and never hesitating in pronouncing the multiple Swedish words and names…his reading is so immersive.”—Booklist

Seeking Out Some Summer Chills

Stolen Things
Author: R. H. Herron
Read by: Xe Sands
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
When a 911 dispatcher picks up an emergency call to hear her daughter on the line, her worst nightmare becomes reality.

“Riveting…Herron, a former Bay Area 911 dispatcher, is definitely a writer to watch.”—Publishers Weekly

Your Next Business Move

The Optimist's Telescope
Author: Bina Venkataraman
Read by: Bina Venkataraman
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“A thought-provoking and eminently readable debut…Venkataraman’s thoughtful and clear-eyed assessment of how to teach oneself to make more carefully considered decisions should prove a valuable tool for anyone wishing to think less in the short term and more toward the future.”—Publishers Weekly

Listeners’ Advisory: Be sure to add audiobooks to your library’s business section—the perfect encouragement for a productive commute.

Celtic harp music adds to the audio experience

Ellie and the Harpmaker
Author: Hazel Prior
Read By: Philip Battley and Katharine Lee McEwan
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
Two narrators plus added music will enhance this buzzed-about favorite and August LibraryReads pick!

“Tender, free-spirited, and guaranteed to tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

Ripped from the Headlines

The Warehouse
Author: Rob Hart
Read By: Jason Culp, Karissa Vacker and Emily Woo Zeller
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“It’s an exciting, well-paced, suspenseful tale laced through with insightful commentary on today’s politics and commerce.”—Booklist

A Stunning Full Cast Production

The Reckless Oath We Made
Author: Bryn Greenwood
Read By: Full Cast, Kirby Heyborne and Alex McKenna
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“The inventiveness of the plot is nicely matched by the richness of the characters.”—Booklist

Audiobook cast of narrators:
Alex McKenna, as Zee
Kirby Heyborne, as Gentry
Adenrele Ojo, as Charlene
MacLeod Andrews, as Rhys
Mark Bramhall, as Alva
Maxwell Glick, as Marcus
Georgette Perna, as Rosalinda
Amanda Carlin, as Dottie
Kaleo Griffith, as Deputy Evangelista

A Smart & Sly Memoir

All the Wrong Moves
Author: Sasha Chapin
Read by: Sasha Chapin
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
Read by the author!

“Wryly funny, introspective, and grimly evocative.”—Booklist

Discover Hidden History With Audiobooks

Gods of the Upper Air
Author: Charles King
Read by: January LaVoy
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“King’s engrossing look at these extraordinary trailblazers deftly illustrates how crucial their research and work remains today.”—Booklist, starred review
Stories From Campus

The Other's Gold
Author: Elizabeth Ames
Read by: Julia Whelan
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“Excellent for fans of Celeste Ng and Kristan Higgins.”—Booklist
The Swallows
Author: Lisa Lutz
Read By: Various, Michael Crouch, Lisa Flanagan and Abby Elliott
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“As tangled as the truth often is, this novel keeps readers on the edge of their seats while opening a conversation about public shaming, economic privilege, gender inequity, and revenge versus justice.”—Booklist, starred review
Tagged: , ,