LibraryReads Make Great Listens
Awards & Recognition 6 Darling, Daring, Delightful March LibraryReads on Audio

Beware the audios of March…there are some memorable scare-fests in this LibraryReads-approved list, alongside new smile-inducing romance and imaginative new fiction. Don’t say we didn’t warn you. Find new favorites ahead…
Click here to see the complete list of March 2020 LibraryReads picks. And be sure to make all formats available to please your patrons!

Darling Rose Gold
Author: Stephanie Wrobel
Read By: Megan Dodds and Jill Winternitz
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “Terrific psychological suspense based on an actual case where a mother deliberately made her daughter sick for years. The story is told in alternating perspectives from the points of view of Rose Gold and her mother, Patty, complex characters who are masterfully drawn, seeming sympathetic at some points and unsympathetic in others. For readers who liked The Silent Patient and The Execution of Noa P. Singleton.”——Alice Kober, Arapahoe Library District, Englewood, CO
NoveList read-alike: Mother, Mother by Karen Zailckas
The Glass Hotel
Author: Emily St. John Mandel
Read by: Dylan Moore
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “A gorgeously written, immersive book about how easy it is to cross lines into questionable moral territory. At its center is Vincent, who loses her mother when she’s 13 and as an adult makes her way into the heart of the Country of Money in New York City. Narrated by a number of well-drawn characters in a shifting timeline. For fans of A Visit from the Goon Squad and The Goldfinch.”—Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
The Return
Author: Rachel Harrison
Read by: Sarah Scott
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “The story of a creepy hotel, a mysterious disappearance and reappearance, and the complexities of friendships. For fans of Stephen King and Thomas Harris.”——Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Hennepin County, MN
The Two Lives of Lydia Bird
Author: Josie Silver
Read by: Olivia Vinall
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “A beautifully written exploration of heartbreak and grief, that takes place over the course of 18 months after Lydia loses her fiance Freddie in a tragic accident. For fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan.”—Ashley Giangregorgio, Virginia Beach Public Library, Virginia Beach, VA
Undercover Bromance
Author: Lyssa Kay Adams
Read by: Andrew Eiden
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “Take one romance-reading hero, his bromance book club, and add a wickedly strong heroine. This one strikes the right balance of snark, heart, and humor. For fans of Alexa Martin and Julie James.”—Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

Hall of Fame Pick

The Red Lotus
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Read by: Rebecca Lowman
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
LibraryReads Review: “In the aftermath of her boyfriend’s disappearance in contemporary Vietnam, a New York ER doctor discovers the shocking truth about his secret life. This is an exciting edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you reading well into the night.”—Marion Sheehan, Canterbury Public Library, Canterbury, CT

Click here to view our full LibraryReads Make Great Listens collection.

Tagged: