Immigrants and Refugees 54 Results

Share stories about the immigrant experience to spread compassion, teach understanding, and promote diversity in children’s and adult literature. For more diverse listens for kids and teens visit www.heardiversity.com and www.readproudlistenproud.com.

Download This List For Excel excel download Send Collection To Cart send to cart
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 5 ->
cover_9780525499480
Author: Reihan Salam | Narrator: Reihan Salam
Release Date: September 25, 2018
“A clarion call to everyone who cares about the American nation and every person who calls it home.” —J.D. VANCE, author of Hillbilly ElegyWhy would a son of immigrants call for tighter restrictions on immigration? For too long, lib...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $47.50
ISBN: 9780525499480
Add To List
cover_9780525499480
cover_9780735210097
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, wher...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780735210097
Add To List
cover_9780735210097
cover_9780525526308
Author: Elizabeth Weil and Clemantine Wamariya | Narrator: Robin Miles
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not—could not—live in that tale.”   Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525526308
Add To List
cover_9780525526308
cover_9780525531890
Author: Rebecca Erbelding | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: April 10, 2018
WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARDFor more than a decade, a harsh Congressional immigration policy kept most Jewish refugees out of America, even as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. In 1944, the United States finally acted. That year, Franklin D...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780525531890
Add To List
cover_9780525531890
cover_9780525529569
Author: Elaine Castillo | Narrator: Donnabella Mortel
Release Date: April 03, 2018
Named one of the best books of 2018 by NPR, Real Simple, Lit Hub, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Post, Kirkus Reviews, and The New York Public Library "A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780525529569
Add To List
cover_9780525529569
cover_9780525526513
Author: Lauren Hilgers | Narrator: Angela Lin
Release Date: March 20, 2018
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2018 BYNew York Times Critics • Wall Street Journal • Kirkus Reviews Christian Science Monitor • San Francisco ChronicleFinalist for the PEN Jacqueline Bograd Weld Biography AwardShortlisted for the ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525526513
Add To List
cover_9780525526513
cover_9780525524564
Author: Xhenet Aliu | Narrator: Lauren Fortgang and Thérèse Plummer
Release Date: January 23, 2018
“A fierce, big-hearted, unflinching debut”* novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream *Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires EverywhereWINNER OF THE GEORGIA AUTHOR OF THE YEAR A...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525524564
Add To List
cover_9780525524564
cover_9780525498391
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le CarréWinner of the 2018 Cundhill History PrizeA New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017One of the New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2017A visionary explo...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525498391
Add To List
cover_9780525498391
cover_9780525498032
Author: Daniel Alarcón | Narrator: David DeSantos
Release Date: October 31, 2017
LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTIONAn urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning aut...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $66.50
ISBN: 9780525498032
Add To List
cover_9780525498032
cover_9780525524007
Author: Khizr Khan | Narrator: Khizr Khan
Release Date: October 24, 2017
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream. NAMED ONE OF THE FIVE BEST MEMOIRS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST   “Moving . ....
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525524007
Add To List
cover_9780525524007
cover_9780525500964
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow frie...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $30
ISBN: 9780525500964
Add To List
cover_9780525500964
cover_9780525495765
Author: Lauren Markham | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: September 12, 2017
The deeply reported story of identical twin brothers who escape El Salvador's violence to build new lives in California—fighting to survive, to stay, and to belong.Growing up in rural El Salvador in the wake of the civil war, the United States ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525495765
Add To List
cover_9780525495765