Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Homelessness & Poverty 16 Results
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 2 ->
cover_9780593510674
Author: Onjali Q. Raúf
Release Date: February 08, 2022
What does it take to turn a bully into a hero? Empathy and the power of forgiveness take center stage in this poignant novel by the award-winning author of The Boy at the Back of the Class.Getting in trouble is what Hector does best. He knows that no...
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780593510674
Add To List
cover_9780593510674
cover_9780593454404
Author: Padma Venkatraman | Narrator: Padma Venkatraman
Release Date: September 07, 2021
“Venkatraman has never met a heavy theme she did not like....Borrowing elements of fable, it's told with a recurring sense of awe by a boy whom the world, for most of his life, has existed only in stories.”—New York Times Book Revie...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780593454404
Add To List
cover_9780593454404
cover_9780593409398
Author: Tara Sullivan | Narrator: Gisela Chipe
Release Date: February 23, 2021
A young girl must find a way to help her family survive in a desolate and impoverished Bolivian silver mining community in this eye-opening tale of resilience.Twelve-year-old Ana wants nothing more than to escape the future set for her and her classm...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $75
ISBN: 9780593409398
Add To List
cover_9780593409398
cover_9780593209325
Author: Danielle Svetcov | Narrator: Emma Galvin and Michael Crouch
Release Date: February 04, 2020
For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it."A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in re...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $56
ISBN: 9780593209325
Add To List
cover_9780593209325
cover_9780525595540
Author: Melissa Sarno | Narrator: Monika Felice Smith
Release Date: June 05, 2018
Can you still have a home if you don't have a house? In the spirit of The Truth About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree comes a stunning debut about a family struggling to find something lasting when everything feels so fleeting.Always think in threes and...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780525595540
Add To List
cover_9780525595540
cover_9780525591399
Author: Katherine Paterson | Narrator: Melba Sibrel
Release Date: December 05, 2017
From two-time Newbery award-winning author Katherine Paterson.When Lyddie and her younger brother are hired out as servants to help pay off their family farm's debts, Lyddie is determined to find a way to reunite her family once again. Hearing about ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780525591399
Add To List
cover_9780525591399
cover_9781524775162
Author: Ann Dee Ellis | Narrator: Taylor Meskimen
Release Date: July 11, 2017
For fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw comes the humorous and heart aching story of one girl’s struggle to keep hope alive for her and her younger sister in Sunny Pines Trailer Park. ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9781524775162
Add To List
cover_9781524775162
cover_9781524755157
Author: Joan Bauer | Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Release Date: February 07, 2017
Newbery Honor winner Joan Bauer's new novel will touch your heart When twelve-year-old Sugar's grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, onl...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781524755157
Add To List
cover_9781524755157
cover_9780399564673
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Release Date: September 22, 2015
In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not muc...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780399564673
Add To List
cover_9780399564673
cover_9780307941879
Author: Patricia Reilly Giff | Narrator: Cynthia Holloway
Release Date: August 09, 2011
Rachel, Cassie, and Joey live in the city with their Pop, until Pop's search for work lands the family on a run down farm. Dreamy Rachel loves to read, and doesn't know much about the country. Times are hard there, too—the school and library ar...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $26
ISBN: 9780307941879
Add To List
cover_9780307941879
cover_9780307582737
Author: Audrey Couloumbis | Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Release Date: December 29, 2009
Wednesday morning is like any other morning, but different. Casey wakes up, gets ready for school. But Sylvia, her stepmother, gets up too—to see her off, she says. That’s different. And when Casey comes home from school that day, Sylvia ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $33
ISBN: 9780307582737
Add To List
cover_9780307582737
cover_9780739386026
Author: Gloria Whelan | Narrator: Sarita Choudhury
Release Date: April 28, 2009
Gloria Whelan's National Book Award–winning novel, chronicles the breathtaking story of a remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate. Like many girls her age in India, thirteen–year–old Koly faces her arranged marriage with hope ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $32.30
ISBN: 9780739386026
Add To List
cover_9780739386026