Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 20th Century 14 Results
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 2
cover_9780525629504
Author: Kate Boehm Jerome | Narrator: Kevin Pariseau
Release Date: March 26, 2019
Amelia Earhart was a woman of many "firsts." In 1932, she became the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. In 1935, she also became the first woman to fly across the Pacific. From her early years to her mysterious 1937 disappearance whil...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525629504
Add To List
cover_9780525629504
cover_9780525628903
Author: Veronica Lawlor | Narrator: Various, Victor Bevine, Catherine Byers and Wendy Bagger
Release Date: February 19, 2019
In their own words, immigrants recall their arrival in the United States. Includes brief biographies and facts about the Ellis Island Oral History Project.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525628903
Add To List
cover_9780525628903
cover_9780525636755
Author: Sherri L. Smith and Who HQ | Narrator: Larry Herron
Release Date: August 07, 2018
It's up, up, and away with the Tuskegee Airmen, a heroic group of African American military pilots who helped the United States win World War II.During World War II, black Americans were fighting for their country and for freedom in Europe, yet they ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525636755
Add To List
cover_9780525636755
cover_9780525625827
Author: Joan Holub | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: May 22, 2018
Building the most magical place on earth was no fairy tale. Learn the story behind the creation of Walt Disney World.In 1964, when Walt Disney and his brother Roy decided to build a second theme park in the Florida swamplands, they kept it super hush...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525625827
Add To List
cover_9780525625827
cover_9780525529194
Author: Kenneth C. Davis | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo and MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: May 15, 2018
From bestselling author Kenneth C. Davis comes a fascinating account of the Spanish influenza pandemic 100 years after it first swept the world in 1918."Davis deftly juggles compelling storytelling, gruesome details, and historical context. More Dead...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $38
ISBN: 9780525529194
Add To List
cover_9780525529194
cover_9780735205543
Author: Janet Pascal | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: June 07, 2016
It seems entirely fitting that Maurice Sendak was born on the same day that Mickey Mouse first made his cartoon debut--June 10, 1928. Sendak was crazy about cartoons and comic books, and at twelve, after seeing Disney's Fantasia, he decided that...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780735205543
Add To List
cover_9780735205543
cover_9780451484505
Author: Roberta Edwards | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Release Date: March 01, 2016
On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong stepped on the moon and, to an audience of over 450 million people, proclaimed his step a giant leap for mankind. This Eagle Scout built his own model planes as a little boy and then grew up to be a test pilot for exp...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780451484505
Add To List
cover_9780451484505
cover_9780451482488
Author: Janet Pascal | Narrator: Danny Campbell
Release Date: February 02, 2016
Ted Geisel loved to doodle from the time he was a kid. He had an offbeat, fun-loving personality. He often threw dinner parties where guests wore outrageous hats! And he donned quirky hats when thinking up ideas for books-like his classic The Cat in ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780451482488
Add To List
cover_9780451482488
cover_9780553552775
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Ray Porter
Release Date: September 22, 2015
From Steve Sheinkin, the award-winning author of The Port Chicago 50 and Bomb comes a tense, exciting exploration of what the Times deemed "the greatest story of the century": how Daniel Ellsberg transformed from obscure government analyst into "the ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553552775
Add To List
cover_9780553552775
cover_9781101925874
Author: Daniel James Brown | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: September 08, 2015
The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation.  For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9781101925874
Add To List
cover_9781101925874
cover_9780804122214
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Roy Samuelson
Release Date: January 08, 2013
In December of 1938, a chemist in a German laboratory made a shocking discovery: When placed next to radioactive material, a Uranium atom split in two. That simple discovery launched a scientific race that spanned 3 continents. In Great Britain and t...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $43
ISBN: 9780804122214
Add To List
cover_9780804122214
cover_9780449015193
Author: Cynthia Levinson | Narrator: Ervin Ross
Release Date: August 28, 2012
By May 1963, African Americans in Birmingham, Alabama, had had enough of segregation and police brutality. But with their lives and jobs at stake, most adults were hesitant to protest the city’s racist culture. Instead, children and teenagers&m...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $43
ISBN: 9780449015193
Add To List
cover_9780449015193