Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 19th Century 11 Results
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 1
cover_9780593586358
Author: Anna Crowley Redding
Release Date: August 16, 2022
An inspiring and beautifully illustrated picture book biography based on the life of Kate Moore, a twelve-year-old lighthouse keeper in the 19th century who saved the lives of twenty-three sailors.With an evocative text and stunning illustration...
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593586358
Add To List
cover_9780593586358
cover_9780593584163
Author: Kate Messner | Narrator: Angela Butler
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.In 1920, Susan B. Anthony passed a law that gave voting rights to women in the Unit...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780593584163
Add To List
cover_9780593584163
cover_9780593554463
Author: Janet B. Pascal and Who HQ | Narrator: Minka Wiltz
Release Date: October 05, 2021
Did the Great Chicago Fire really start after a cow kicked over a lantern in a barn? Find out the truth in this addition to the What Was? series.On Sunday, October 8, 1871, a fire started on the south side of Chicago. A long drought made the neighbor...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593554463
Add To List
cover_9780593554463
cover_9780593461259
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Steve Sheinkin and Vikas Adam
Release Date: August 10, 2021
New York Times bestselling author and Newbery Honor recipient Steve Sheinkin welcomes young listeners to the thrilling, tragic, and downright wild historic adventure of America’s westward expansion in Which Way to the Wild West? ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780593461259
Add To List
cover_9780593461259
cover_9780593340851
Author: Kirsten Anderson and Who HQ | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Release Date: February 02, 2021
How did a New York printer become one of the most influential poets of all time? Find out in this addition to the Who HQ library!Walt Whitman was a printer, journalist, editor, and schoolteacher. But today, he's recognized as one of America's foundin...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593340851
Add To List
cover_9780593340851
cover_9780593217016
Author: Deborah Noyes | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: October 06, 2020
How did Little Women-- the beloved literary classic and inspiration for Greta Gerwig's acclaimed feature film adaptation--come to be? This stunning biography explores the unique family and unusual circumstances of literary icon Louisa May Alcott...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780593217016
Add To List
cover_9780593217016
cover_9780593152539
Author: Deborah Hopkinson and Who HQ | Narrator: Soneela Nankani
Release Date: December 03, 2019
The story of Girl Power! Learn about the remarkable women who changed US history.From Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton to Gloria Steinem and Hillary Clinton, women throughout US history have fought for equality. In the nineteenth and early...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780593152539
Add To List
cover_9780593152539
cover_9780525629689
Author: Yona Zeldis McDonough and Who HQ | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Release Date: September 03, 2019
Born a slave in Maryland, Harriet Tubman knew first-hand what it meant to be someone's property; she was whipped by owners and almost killed by an overseer. It was from other field hands that she first heard about the Underground Railroad which she t...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525629689
Add To List
cover_9780525629689
cover_9780525636892
Author: Meg Belviso, Pam Pollack and Who HQ | Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
Release Date: June 05, 2018
Susan B. Anthony may be an international icon but her campaign for women's rights had personal roots. Working as a school teacher in New York, Anthony refused to settle for less pay than her male colleagues which ignited her lifelong devotion to wome...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525636892
Add To List
cover_9780525636892
cover_9780525592761
Author: Joseph Bruchac | Narrator: Scott Peterson
Release Date: February 06, 2018
The True Story of Sitting Bull from multi-award-winning author Joseph Bruchac.Anxious to be given a name as strong and brave as that of his father, a proud Lakota Sioux grows into manhood, acting with careful deliberation, determination, and bravery,...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780525592761
Add To List
cover_9780525592761
cover_9780451484369
Author: Yona Zeldis McDonough and Who HQ | Narrator: Deanna Hurst
Release Date: April 05, 2016
No one knows where the term Underground Railroad came from--there were no trains or tracks, only "conductors" who helped escaping slaves to freedom. Including real stories about "passengers" on the "Railroad," this audiobook chronicles slaves' close ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $22
ISBN: 9780451484369
Add To List
cover_9780451484369