An overachieving teen witch vies for a prestigious scholarship at her elite high school in this contemporary YA fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.
 
“This book is captivating, romantic and deeply powerful—it left me wanting more!" —Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys


Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted—
 
Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. As a junior at T.K. Anderson Magical Magnet School, she’s determined to win the Brockton Scholarship—her ticket into the university of her dreams. Her competition? Ana freaking Álvarez. The key to victory? Impressing Mr. B, drama teacher and head of the scholarship committee.
 
When Mr. B asks Shay to star in this year’s aggressively inclusive musical, she warily agrees, even though she’ll have to put up with Ana playing the other lead. But in rehearsals, Shay realizes Ana is . . . not the despicable witch she’d thought. Perhaps she could be a friend—or more. And Shay could use someone in her corner once she becomes the target of Mr. B’s unwanted attention. When Shay learns she’s not the first witch to experience his inappropriate behavior, she must decide if she’ll come forward. But how can she speak out when her future's on the line?

"Come for the crackling queer banter, stay for the history of magic (steeped in shrewd social consciousness).” —Ryan Douglass, New York Times bestselling author of The Taking of Jake Livingston
RELATED TITLES

cover_9780593585207

cover_9780593612347

cover_9780593506400

cover_9780593506462