From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.

On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with what is now known as the high five, which would go on to be the Dodgers' signature move.

In the coming months, Glenn made a name for himself in baseball, as Rookie of the Year in 1977. He was even called "the next Willie Mays" by his coach. But Glenn also made history in the MLB by being the first openly gay MLB player, and one of the first in any of the major American sports. While his MLB career was cut short only three years later, his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQ+ community would resonate for years to come.

Singled Out tells the true story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood, his journey to the MLB, and beyond, into the more difficult times of his life--during drug addiction, injury, and the AIDS epidemic. This story is a sorely needed narrative and a fascinating account of a mostly unknown piece of MLB and LGBTQ+ history.

Readers won't soon forget about the bold spirit, joy, and tragedy of Glenn Burke's life. Includes black-and-white photos, a timeline, and an index.
RELATED TITLES

cover_9780593106006

cover_9780593208885

cover_9780593209059

cover_9781984886101