For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it. "A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade. Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her. Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van. As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving. "Insightful [and] touching...Not to be missed." --Karen Cushman, author of The Midwife's Apprentice "You won't be able to put it down. Trust." --ScaryMommy.com "For readers of Dan Gemeinhart [and] Katherine Applegate." --The Children's Book Review "Relatable and beautifully told." --Commonsense Media "Pertinent....Honest...Uplifting...Fresh." --PW "Utterly of this moment." --Jack Cheng, author of See You in the Cosmos "Absorbing and warmhearted." --Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series "Realistically hopeful...Recommended." --SLC "Sharp...Perceptive." --BCCB "Unforgettable." --Brightly
RELATED TITLES

cover_9780525638568

cover_9780525493846

cover_9780307582676

cover_9780739361382