LibraryReads Make Great Listens
Awards & Recognition, Featured Titles August’s LibraryReads Keep Family in the Loop

Your patrons will not be able to stop listening to these incredible — and even haunting — August LibraryReads. With so many stories dealing with family issues — and the chilling stories that can happen within — these listens are great for fans of Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train. Be sure to grab your headphones and settle in for some superb storytelling, because these LibraryReads make amazing listens.

Hear clips to find out why these LibraryReads make great listens and view the full list of August LibraryReads picks here. Check out our LibraryReads Make Great Listens collection to see all of our BOT LibraryReads picks (since the program began).

THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR
By Shari Lapena
Read by Kirsten Potter

LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “This book is so full of twists and turns that my head was swiveling. Who took baby Cora? Marco and Anne decide to leave their baby home alone. After all, they share a wall with their neighbors, with whom they are partying. They would take turns checking in on her baby monitor. But when they return to their flat the first thing they find is an open door and no Cora. Who’s to blame? Could it be an unlikely suspect that you won’t see coming? If you like a book that keeps you guessing until the very end you won’t be disappointed.” ― Debbie Frizzell, Johnson County Library, Roeland Park, KS

Why try the audio? Listeners who love Gillian Flynn and Tana French will find much to discuss in this audiobook—this is both an emotionally complex examination of marriage, and a dark, unsettling thrill ride. The twists will leave listeners gasping. And narrator Kirsten Potter, who can read anything from non-fiction to historical fiction, to thrillers, of course, is the perfect guide.

Praise for THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR:
“[A] plot-driven page-turner, and even the most character-focused readers will find it hard to put down.”—Booklist

“Meticulously crafted and razor-sharp. THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR lingers…”—Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

WATCHING EDIE
By Camilla Way
Read by Heather Wilds and Fiona Hardingham

LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “Twisty psychological banter makes this book a thrill ride. Edie was the girl in high school who had it all. Heather was the awkward girl who wanted so badly to be accepted. That was high school and now Edie is a single mom caught in a dead end job. She is about to lose it when Heather comes to her rescue. While Edie loves being able to get her life back, the hold that Heather has on her and the baby is disconcerting. The story jumps back and forth between past and present and you will change your mind about their friendship right up to the last page.” ―Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

Why try the audio? This kind of gripping psychological suspense—with not one but two (perhaps?) unreliable narrators—is a treat when brought to life on audio.

Praise for WATCHING EDIE:
“Way writes clearly and evocatively…beautifully written.” —Washington Post

“Compelling…a humdinger of a story told by an exceptional writer.” —Booklist

“Impossible to put down.” —author Jacquelyn Mitchard

“Riveting and remarkable…a literary page-turner.” –Amanda Filipacchi, author of The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty

THE CITY BAKER’S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING
By Louise Miller
Read by Jorjeana Marie

LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review:“Talented chef Olivia Rawlings didn’t make the best decisions in her love life, but it takes an accident with a flambéed dessert to force her into a major life change. She flees to a small town in Vermont and takes a job at a small inn. She soon discovers that even though the town is small, the world she has known is about to get much bigger. Miller’s writing is descriptive enough to imagine Olivia in this setting, smell her pastries baking, and hear the music in the story. Miller has captured the essence of a great character in a setting that could easily feel like home to many readers.” ―Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO

Why try the audio? The perfect Listen While You Cook pick, sure to delight foodies who loved J. Ryan Stradal’s Kitchens of the Great Midwest. Louise Miller captures the power of food in creating community and comfort. As an experienced Boston pastry chef herself, she explains the ins and outs of working in a kitchen—the camaraderie, the elaborate meal preparations, the mouth-watering recipes. Grab the audio, and get cooking!

Audio Praise for A CITY BAKER’S GUIDE FOR COUNTRY LIVING:
“Miller, a pastry chef herself, writes about food with vivid detail, but her rhythmic prose is even crisper when her interests converge.” —Publishers Weekly

“Mix in one part Diane Mott Davidson’s delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon’s country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance. Fans of Jeanne Ray and Judith Ryan Hendricks will enjoy this lighthearted love story that’s as homey as a slice of prized crumb apple pie.” —Library Journal

“Miller’s charming debut includes pastry descriptions that will require a bakery visit to get through…Offer this to romance readers as well as folks who don’t think they read romance.”—Booklist

“This book is super cozy…Okay, it’s Gilmore Girls.”—Bon Appétit

THE DOLLHOUSE
By Fiona Davis
Read by Tavia Gilbert

LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “This is the story of the women who stayed in the Barbizon Hotel in the 1950’s. A reporter is tipped off about one of the women, who still lives in the building over 60 years later. As she tries to research a murder and a case of switched identities, she starts becoming part of the story. The narration switched between 2016 and 1952 and as I read the novel, I soon got caught up in the next piece of the puzzle. It had history, romance, and a way to view the changing roles of women. Enjoyed it very much!” ―Donna Ballard, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

Why try the audio? THE DOLLHOUSE weaves together past and present narratives which together reveal the truth behind a horrific tragedy. The two viewpoints make for an engrossing listen and capture the changing roles of women in the Big Apple, which itself remains unchanged, equal parts glamour and darkness. Click here to hear more from narrator Tavia Gilbert and audiobook director May Wuthrich.

Tavia Gilbert also joined in EarlyWord’s wonderful chat with author Fiona Davis. Nora Rawlinson said, “Tavia is proving what I’ve always said—a book’s narrator knows it better than anyone else!” and Fiona exclaimed, “Your perspective is really amazing.” Check it out here.

Praise for THE DOLLHOUSE:
“Davis delivers a fast-paced, richly-imagined debut that’s almost impossible to put down.”—Kathleen Tessaro, author of The Perfume Collector

“Two coming-of-age stories rolled into an ode to New York City and the young women—of past and present—who have tried to forge lives and careers there. Poetic, romantic, crushing, and soulful.”—Jules Moulin, author of Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes
 

ARROWOOD
By Laura McHugh
Read by Sarah Scott

LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “Arden Arrowood returns to the family home, a stately Second Empire mansion, after the death of her father. She is hoping to find some peace and possibly an answer to the decades old mystery of her twin sisters’ kidnapping. Arden, at age 8, was the only witness to their disappearance, but memory is a tricky thing. The spooky old house, the setting on the Iowa side of the Mississippi River Bluffs, the small town atmosphere, a creepy caretaker, and many family secrets make this novel Un-put-down-able! Highly recommended.” ―Mary Vernau, Tyler Public Library, Tyler, TX

Why try the audio? With themes involving family, relationships, memory, betrayal, and love, there is plenty for book clubs to discuss in this riveting audio. It will haunt listeners long after the final disc ends. Spooky stories are meant to be heard…just listen with the lights on.

Praise for ARROWOOD:
“This engaging and thrilling tale about a young woman’s homecoming, the vagaries of memory, and the impact of tragedy on both a town and a family is terrific choice for Laura Lippman and Sue Grafton readers.”—Library Journal, starred review

Additional audio praise for Laura McHugh:
“An admirable contribution to the literary crime genre…This audiobook will be well received by sophisticated listeners who appreciate delving into the psychologies of families and communities.”—Library Journal, starred review (The Weight of Blood)

See all ten August LibraryReads 2016 picks on the LibraryReads site.

Sign up for our newsletters to get more behind-the-mic news!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts