Awards & Recognition, Collection Development 3 Outstanding Audiobook Editions from the 2021-22 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List

The Texas Library Association’s (TLA) 2021-2022 Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) Master List was announced at the online Texas Book Festival on Monday, November 2. Visit the official awards page and view announcement here.

Be sure to make all formats available for your students and young readers—including these incredible audiobook productions below! Listen to clips and learn more:

The Best of Iggy
Author: Annie Barrows
Read by: Kate Reinders
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“Reinders’ chipper performance nails exactly the tone of the precocious narrator of the story. With glee, her voice exudes purity and trustworthiness as she regales listeners with great detail of Iggy’s adventures…Listeners will recognize the errors of Iggy’s ways, predict what might go wrong, and enjoy Reinders delightful narration. This audio is certain to entertain children and adults, who will hope it’s the first of many adventures for Iggy.”—Booklist, starred audio review

Also available: Iggy Is Better Than Ever; Coming in May 2021: Iggy Is the Hero of Everything

The Elephant's Girl
Author: Celesta Rimington
Read By: Emily Eiden and Celesta Rimington
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
Includes a Note read by the Author!

“This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo.”—School Library Journal

Previous Narrator Praise: “Emily Eiden’s narration captures the humor and relatable emotion.”—AudioFile (The Campaign)

Tristan Strong Punches A Hole In The Sky
Author: Kwame Mbalia
Read by: Amir Abdullah
LISTEN TO A CLIP: audio
“Abduallah weaves their voices seamlessly throughout the recording. This tour-de-force is highly recommended.”—Booklist, starred audio review and Booklist Editors’ Choice Youth Audio 2019

“Narrator Amir Abdullah’s rich baritone brings a thrilling mythological world to life.”—AudioFile Earphones Award

Tagged: , ,