Awards & Recognition #1 April LibraryReads Pick is Perfect for Fans of Jane Austen and The Bachelor

LibraryReads’ April 2016 picks are a wonderful blend of historical and modern. From retellings of old classics to framing history through a new set of eyes, these are listens you won’t want to miss. Hear clips to find out why these LibraryReads make great listens. View the full list of April LibraryReads picks here, and check out our LibraryReads Make Great Listens collection to see all of our BOT LibraryReads picks (since the program began).

#1 LIBRARYREADS PICK

ELIGIBLEfavorite_libraryreads
By Curtis Sittenfeld
Read by Cassandra Campbell
 
 
 
 
 
 
LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “Love, sex, and relationships in contemporary Cincinnati provide an incisive social commentary set in the framework of Pride and Prejudice. Sittenfeld’s inclusion of a Bachelor-like reality show is a brilliant parallel to the scrutiny placed on characters in the neighborhood balls of Jane Austen’s novel, and readers will have no question about the crass nature of the younger Bennets, or the pride—and prejudice—of the heroine.”—Leslie DeLooze, Richmond Memorial Library, Batavia, NY

Why try the audio? This fun, laugh-out-loud version of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice will draw in listeners who have gobbled up all of Austen’s works, as well as those who have never experienced her work before. Narrator Cassandra Campbell is the perfect choice for the strong willed and yet ever-exhausted Liz Bennett, and listeners will clutch their earphones in delight with all the twists and turns.

★ “In this fun, frothy modernization…[Sittenfeld’s] charming retelling is a delightful romp for not only Austen devotees but also lovers of romantic comedies and sly satire, as well. Bestselling Sittenfeld plus Jane Austen? What more could mainstream fiction readers ask for?” —Booklist, starred review

“Endlessly amusing…[Sittenfeld’s] take on Austen’s iconic characters is skillful, her pacing excellent, and her dialog highly entertaining….Austen fans will adore this new offering, a wonderful addition to the genre.” —Library Journal

LILAC GIRLS
By Martha Hall Kelly
Read by Cassandra Campbell, Kathleen Gati, Martha Hall Kelly and Kathrin Kana
 
 
 
 
 
 
LISTEN TO A CLIP:

LibraryReads review: “This is story of the Ravensbruck Rabbits: seventy-four women prisoners in the Ravensbruck concentration camp. Using alternating first-person narratives, the characters relate their experiences from 1939 through 1959. Drawing upon a decade of research, Hall reconstructs what life was like in Ravensbruck. More than a war story, this is a tale of how the strength of women’s bonds can carry them through even the most difficult situations. LILAC GIRLS is a solid, compelling historical read.” — Andrea Larson, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL

Why try the audio? This powerful story follows three women’s experiences during World War II, and the first person narrative truly allows listeners to step into the characters’ shoes. Narrators Cassandra Campbell, Kathleen Gati, and Kathrin Kana give listeners the most personal reading experience possible thanks to their haunting portrayals, allowing us to empathize with what the characters are going through in a uniquely memorable way.

“This is the kind of book I wish I had the courage to write–a profound, unsettling, and thoroughly captivating look at sisterhood through the dark lens of the Holocaust. LILAC GIRLS is the best book I’ve read all year. It will haunt you.” — Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

“Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history—women’s history—that should never be forgotten.”—Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls.

See all ten April LibraryReads 2016 picks on the LibraryReads site.

Tagged: , , , ,