whattypeoflistener
Promotions & Events What types of listeners are your patrons? Win a summer audiobook collection every listener will love

***Please note this contest has ended. But you can still click on the covers below to learn more about these terrific titles. Thanks for visiting our website!***

Savvy Unshelved readers already know that libraries can attract patrons from all walks of life, with a variety of different interests. As summer approaches, patrons are gearing up for vacation trips, outdoor sports, cookouts, gardening, and more of their favorite seasonal activities. Celebrate the arrival of sunny weather and get ready for June is Audiobook Month by helping patrons find an audiobook that fits their interests.

Find recommendations for crafters, travelers, foodies, and more below. We’re excited to share these fantastic summer listening titles with Unshelved’s awesome readers! Ten lucky librarians will win the six outstanding audiobooks mentioned in this post. Fill out the form below for your chance to win. Remember to share what you’re listening to throughout Audiobook Month using the Twitter hashtag #audiomonth and tweet us @BOTLIbrary.

Visit www.tryaudiobooks.com for more great suggestions for patrons, no matter their interest. Plus, listeners can download six FREE full audiobooks to discover how listening to audiobooks makes their favorite pastime even more fun.

Cooking

Spice up your summer with audiobooks
…
and feed your CREATIVITY with DELICIOUS listens.

We’ve serving up the perfect listening menu for summer with two delectable audiobooks:

DELICIOUS!
By Ruth Reichl
Read by Julia Whelan

Librarians across the country selected beloved food writer Ruth Reichl’s dazzling fiction debut, DELICIOUS!, for the May LibraryReads list. Step inside the kitchen and get an inside look at the bustling New York restaurant scene in this story about sisters, family ties, and the power food has to connect the world. Behind every delicious dish is a great story and cooking with audiobooks is your recipe for a perfect summer. Take it from the author herself:

cooking_earbudsAuthor Advice: Listen While You Cook! “One of my favorite things to do in the whole world is to spend a Saturday or a Sunday afternoon listening to an audiobook while I cook…I listen to tons of audiobooks while I cook. This is for me the conjunction of my two favorite things: cooking and reading.”
— Ruth Reichl, as told to AudioFile

BEA News:
We’re excited for Reichl to share her passion for audiobooks at The Audio Publishers Association Author Tea on May 30, 2014 at BEA! She will be joined by Pat O’Brien (emcee), Dick Cavett, and Jodi Picoult. Find more info here.

CREATIVITY, INC.
By Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace
Read by Peter Altschuler

Pixar co-founder Ed Catmull shares the secret ingredients to his success in CREATIVITY, INC.: simple philosophies that foster creativity and are sure to stimulate any listener’s imagination. Help patrons get a burst of creativity during their next project, with Catmull’s insightful advice. Plus, Pixar fans are treated to a behind-the-scenes look at how their favorite Pixar animated features were made. Tech savvy animators receive a history lesson on the early days of computer animation, and managers will learn how to lead their team to the next level of creativity. There’s something for every listener in this incisive audiobook.

FamilyListening

On land or sea, by foot, or even… mermaid fins?
Keep your young time travelers entertained!

Take young listeners on an incredible journey with these audiobooks:

WATERFIRE SAGA, BOOK ONE: DEEP BLUE
By Jennifer Donnelly
Read by Bea Miller

With stellar narration and original music provided by rising young star Bea Miller, it’s hard not to get swept away by Jennifer Donnelly’s epic mermaid saga, DEEP BLUE. This audiobook plunges listeners into the depths of the ocean where one mermaid embarks on a quest to discover her mother’s assassin and uncover a conspiracy that could threaten her world’s existence. Take a listen to this mesmerizing mermaid tale to find out why young listeners will love this nautical adventure.

THE HERE AND NOW
By Ann Brashares
Read by Emily Rankin

From Ann Brashares, bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, comes another captivating audiobook about traveling—through time. THE HERE AND NOW is an unforgettable romantic thriller about a girl from the future who could save the world…if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to. Brashares’ highly-anticipated new work is already receiving lots of early praise. Audie Award winning actress, Emily Rankin (The Age of Miracles) also shared her excitement about narrating the audiobook. Read what she had to say here.

Crafting

Needle your way into an unforgettable story this summer.

Get crafty with two artfully narrated audiobooks:

THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE
By Leila Sales
Read by Rebecca Lowman

Step into the DJ booth with Elise Dembowski, an unpopular girl who discovers her love of DJing at a warehouse party on a night that will change her life forever. Refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is a YA crossover that music fans will love. Spin some wool while Leila Sales spins a yarn (and the DJ spins a track!) in this exuberant coming-of-age novel about identity, friendship, and the unifying power of music.

THE QUICK
By Lauren Owen
Read by Simon Slater

CLIP COMING SOON

The perfect audiobook to get lost in while you craft: enter the fantastical world of magic and menace conjured up by Lauren Owen in THE QUICK. Fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus will be enchanted by this beguiling and terrifying story of a sister’s search for her missing brother set in Victorian London. Named one of the Top 10 Literary Fiction Books of the Season by Publishers Weekly, read more praise for Owen’s astonishing debut here.

CONTEST: Open to librarians and teachers in the U.S. only; entrants must provide school/library name and address of employment in section below. Limit one (1) entry per person. Ten (10) winners will be randomly selected to win the six (6) audiobooks mentioned in this blog post. No purchase necessary. Contest ends at 11:59 PST, Sunday, May 18.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,