Featured-LL, New Releases TURNING 15 ON THE ROAD TO FREEDOM Q&A with narrator Damaras Obi and director Ally Sheedy

by Emily Parliman, Editor at Listening Library

TURNING 15 ON THE ROAD TO FREEDOM is an award-winning memoir by Lynda Blackmon Lowery who, at age 15, was the youngest person to walk all the way from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama, as part of the 1965 Selma Rights Voting March. The book was adapted for stage by director Ally Sheedy (The Breakfast Club, St. Elmo’s Fire) and actress Damaras Obi. Lynda told WMAC Northeast Public Radio: “The first time I saw [Damaras] I was in awe. This girl is awesome.” We were lucky enough to have Damaras narrate the audiobook, with Ally directing. Here they discuss what it was like to adapt the memoir into a play, and then collaborate on the audiobook: Read more

Tagged: , , , , , ,
Guest Post Author Guest Post: Ashley Hope Pérez on her Printz Honor winner OUT OF DARKNESS audiobook

Ashley Hope Pérez sets her riveting story of love and tragedy in an East Texas oil town against the backdrop of the 1937 New London school explosion, one of the worst school disasters in American history. In this historical context, she explores racism and segregation, posing thought-provoking questions about these divisive forces. A must-listen Hear Diversity pick, OUT OF DARKNESS is a beautifully rendered, multi-layered story that demonstrates the power of bringing diverse voices alive on audiobook. Read more

Tagged: , , , , , , ,
Featured-LL, Guest Post “It was an unbelievable collaboration from the word go.”—Author Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock on THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES audiobook

Being a teenager in Alaska isn’t like growing up anywhere else. Transport listeners to America’s Last Frontier in this unique and spellbinding YA debut, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, and Sherman Alexie. Read by Alaskan Native Erin Tripp and a full cast, the audio delivers an authentic representation of a young Inupiaq girl’s life—a perfect addition to your audio diversity shelf. Find out how this special production was cast and hear a clip from an audiobook that the author called “a first of its kind collaboration.” Read more

Tagged: , , , , , , ,
Collection Development, Featured-LL Celebrate Black History Month with Audiobooks

Share powerful stories with young listeners, including essential non-fiction and historical listens, biographies of notable black heroes, and award-winning stories from bestselling authors. Plus, request two FREE CD samplers and learn how you can further diversify your audio collection at HearDiversity.com. Read more

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,