Awards & Recognition STATION ELEVEN named a National Book Award Finalist

STATION ELEVEN, already a New York Times bestseller and LibraryReads pick, can add National Book Award Finalist to its well-deserved list of accolades. Emily St. John Mandel‘s novel dazzles both readers and listeners alike with its eerie setting, spellbinding story, and an ambitious literary combination of post-apocalyptic suspense and thoughtful exploration of the ephemeral nature of beauty and fame. The audio provides an especially immersive listening experience thanks to Kirsten Potter‘s perfectly haunting narration; AudioFile refers to her as a “riveting guide” in their glowing audiobook review. Take a listen for yourself and be sure to check your holds for this noteworthy title.

LISTEN TO A CLIP

VIDEO: If you survived the apocalypse, what would you miss most?
(We are happy to see libraries & audiobooks made the list!)

Rave Reviews:

LibraryReads Review: “An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.”—Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, NC

“An exemplary postapocalyptic literary novel and a richly satisfying audio experience.”—Booklist, starred audio review

“[A] haunting production…brought to life by the versatile Kirsten Potter…She’s a riveting guide…”—AudioFile

“Mandel’s vision is not only achingly beautiful but also startlingly plausible, exposing the fragile beauty of the world we inhabit. In the burgeoning postapocalyptic literary genre, Mandel’s transcendent, haunting novel deserves a place alongside The Road, The Passage, and The Dog Stars.”—Booklist, starred review

“This is a brilliantly constructed, highly literary, postapocalyptic page-turner, and should be a breakout novel for Mandel.”—Library Journal, starred review

“St. John Mandel’s examination of the connections between individuals with disparate destinies makes a case for the worth of even a single life.”—Publishers Weekly

“Mandel’s solid writing and magnetic narrative make for a strong combination in what should be a breakout novel.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Click here to see Listening Library’s 2014 National Book Award Finalists for Young People’s Literature. Click on the logo below to visit the official National Book Award site.
The winner of the National Book Award will be announced Nov 19, 2014.

Tagged: , , , , ,