New Releases May’s #1 LibraryReads Pick ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE “would make a great book club read!”

May’s LibraryReads picks range from a quirky, fun debut with ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINEto a beloved author triumphantly returning to her roots in SAINTS FOR ALL OCCASIONS. Both of these listens are engrossing and will capture interest as the summer months begin. Put these excellent titles up front to remind your patrons that LibraryReads also make great listens!

Find out why these LibraryReads make great listens with the audiobooks below and view the full list of May LibraryReads picks here. Check out our LibraryReads Make Great Listens collection to see all of our BOT LibraryReads picks (since the program began).

ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINEfavorite_libraryreads
By Gail Honeyman
Read by Cathleen McCarron

LISTEN TO A CLIP: ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE

LibraryReads review: “I loved this book about the quirky Eleanor, who struggles to relate to other people and lives a very solitary life. When she and the new work IT guy happen to be walking down the street together, they witness an elderly man collapse on the sidewalk and suddenly Eleanor’s orderly routines are disrupted. This is a lovely novel about loneliness and how a little bit of kindness can change a person forever. Highly recommended for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project – this would make a great book club read.” —Halle Eisenman, Beaufort County Library, Blufton, SC

Narrator Cathleen McCarron

Why try the audio? Narrator Cathleen McCarron is the perfect pick for this listen, as evidenced by her AudioFile Earphones Award for this title. McCarron perfectly captures the emotional tone of the story, balancing the quirky nature of titular Eleanor Oliphant with the unfortunate tragedy Eleanor must contend with. But her humorous edge drives the story, keeping the story in your mind long after the audiobook has ended.

Praise for ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE:

“Narrator Cathleen McCarron’s articulated British accent and studied pacing lend weight to Eleanor’s apparent alienation from the world–and her immediate charm to listeners.” — AudioFile Earphones Award Winner

“Witty, charming, and heartwarming, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is a remarkable debut about a singular woman. Readers will cheer Eleanor as she confronts her dark past and turns to a brighter future. Feel good without feeling smarmy.” — Booklist, starred review (book)

“Eleanor Oliphant is a truly original literary creation: funny, touching, and unpredictable. Her journey out of dark shadows is expertly woven and absolutely gripping.” —Jojo Moyes, author of After You and The Horse Dancer

“So powerful–I completely loved Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.” —Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author of The Widow and the upcoming, The Child

SAINTS FOR ALL OCCASIONS
By J. Courtney Sullivan
Read by Susan Denaker

LISTEN TO A CLIP: SAINTS FOR ALL OCCASIONS

LibraryReads review: “Sisters Nora and Theresa Flynn leave their home in Ireland for a new life in 1958 Boston. Each adjusts to life in America in her own way. Steady Nora watches younger Theresa, until choices made by each woman drive the sisters apart. We follow the story from 1958 to contemporary New England, Ireland, and New York, exploring how siblings and children relate to their parents and each other as they age. Novels about Irish immigrant families and their American descendants are a weakness of mine and the way this story unfolds from everyone’s perspectives is very satisfying!” —Trisha Rigsby, Deerfield Public Library, Deerfield, WI

Narrator Susan Denaker

Why try the audio? Susan Denaker manages to perfectly capture the spirits of Nora and Therea Flynn from their youth to fifty years later. Her subtle but strong narration allows the listener to become enveloped in this sweeping, unforgettable story of a family torn apart by secrets.

Praise for SAINTS FOR ALL OCCASIONS:

“I hope to read another novel as strong and wise and beautiful and heartbreaking as J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions this year, but I’m not sure I will.” — Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool

“Sullivan is a master at making a sideways glance or a revealed detail add to a larger picture that she takes her time in building, one that might just as easily bear as its title a wise remark in passing: “Loving and knowing weren’t the same.”” — Kirkus Reviews

“Sullivan’s quiet ending is a satisfying conclusion to this rich, well-crafted story.” — Publisher’s Weekly

“Sullivan once again expertly delivers a messy and complicated family story with sharp yet sympathetic writing.” — Booklist 

See all ten of May’s LibraryReads 2017 picks on the LibraryReads site.

Sign up for our newsletters to get more behind-the-mic news!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Related Posts