Awards & Recognition, New Releases March’s #1 LibraryReads Pick Is An Incredibly Atmospheric Tale

There are five thought-provoking titles in multiple formats that your patrons can decide between from our list of March LibraryReads picks! The #1 LibraryReads Pick, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY, is an excellent reminder to check out our Large Print program! The other four titles, which are all available on audio, are perfect for curling up with, whether it’s snowing outside or 70 degrees! With such a large collection of recommended titles, don’t forget to remind your patrons that LibraryReads also make the perfect listens and are a great way to tackle TBR lists.

Find out why these LibraryReads make great listens with the audiobooks below and view the full list of March LibraryReads picks here. Check out our LibraryReads Make Great Listens collection to see all of our BOT LibraryReads picks (since the program began).

THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY
favorite_libraryreadsBy Hannah Tinti
Read by Rachel Atkins
Only Available in Large Print

LibraryReads review: “Meet Samuel Hawley, a man in a constant struggle with his violent past, doing the best he can to raise his daughter.  Meet Loo, his daughter, a girl with an obscure past and an uncertain future, on the cusp of adulthood.  And meet Lily, the dead woman who connects them both. In this finely woven novel, the past and the present gradually illuminate the story of a man’s life through the bullet wounds he carries with him and makes readers consider what it is to be both good and evil.” — Dawn Terrizzi, Denton Public Library, Denton, TX

This #1 LibraryReads pick is available in Large Print. Check out our Large Print program SOP for Spring ‘17 and Summer ’17.

Check out what these libriarians have to say about Large Print:

“Our large print materials have a very high circulation rate here at the Henry County Library. As soon as we put new titles out they are immediately checked out.” — Kristin Bennett, Henry County Library, MO

“I like their first class binding combined with their colorful, easy-to-read book covers.” — Richard Sumrall, Library Director, Lincoln Public Library District, IL

Praise for THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY:

“[An] atmospheric, complexly suspenseful saga . . . with life or death struggles in dramatic settings . . . and starring a fiercely loving, reluctant criminal and a girl of grit and wonder . . . a breathtaking novel of violence and tenderness.”—Booklist (starred review)

“Seamlessly transposing classical myth into a quintessentially American landscape and marrying taut suspense with dreamy lyricism, [Hannah] Tinti’s beautifully intricate second novel is well worth the wait. . . . Tinti’s imagery evokes time, space, the sea, and the myth of Heracles without losing the narrative’s sure grounding in American communities and culture. This is a convincingly redemptive and celebratory novel: an affirmation of the way that heroism and human fallibility coexist, of how good parenting comes in unexpected packages, and of the way that we are marked by our encounters with each other and the luminous universe in which we dwell.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is one part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade, and twelve parts wild innovation. Hannah Tinti proves herself to be an old-fashioned storyteller of the highest order.”—Ann Patchett, author of Commonwealth

“Hannah Tinti’s The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is a riveting character-driven thriller, a father-daughter road trip you won’t soon forget. Fans of The Good Thief who have been waiting for whatever comes next from this gifted writer will find their patience richly rewarded.”—Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley is utterly magnificent—gripping, suspenseful, funny, and so full of heart. Young Loo and her father are contemporary characters with the stature and magnetism of the great heroes of literature. The reader in me was racing through to find out what would befall them, while the writer, awestruck by Hannah Tinti’s powerful storytelling, was desperately trying to slow down. This is a book I will return to again and again, for sheer pleasure and to learn how it is done.”—Ruth Ozeki, author of A Tale for the Time Being

THE WANDERERS
By Meg Howrey
Read by Mozhan Marno

LISTEN TO A CLIP: THE WANDERERS

LibraryReads review: “A private space exploration company is mounting a manned mission to Mars. To prepare for the actual event, the company plans an elaborate training program to match the conditions and potential problems the team might face. The ordeal, though simulated, is no less dramatic for the astronauts, their families, and the crew. The lines cross between fiction and reality and none of the participants is left unchanged. Part literary fiction, part sci-fi, all amazing.” – Marie Byars, Sno-Isle Libraries, Oak Harbor, WA

Why try the audio? Howrey’s witty, extensively researched, and imaginative space exploration novel brings to life the emotions of three astronauts auditioning for the first-ever mission to Mars. Narrator Mozhan Marno, an actress of film and television with appearances in House of Cards and Medium, brings her experience and skill set to capturing the spirits of Helen, Yoshi, and Sergei, as they embark upon personal exploration as a result of their realistic simulation of a historic voyage.

Praise for THE WANDERERS:

“With these believably fragile and idealistic characters, Howrey’s insightful novel will take readers to a place where they too can ‘lift their heads and wonder.’” – Publishers Weekly (starred)

“Evoking the authenticity of Neal Stephenson’s Seveneves (2015) with the literary sensitivity of Ann Patchett, Howrey has made the mission-to-Mars motif an exquisite exploration of human space, inner and outer.” – Booklist

“Howrey’s exquisite novel demonstrates that the final frontier may not be space after all.”—J. Ryan Stradal

SAY NOTHING
By Brad Parks
Read by George Newbern

LISTEN TO A CLIP: SAY NOTHING

LibraryReads review: “Fans of crime fiction and fans of domestic drama will find much to love in Parks’ genre-blending thriller. Judge Scott Sampson is a devoted family man and a respected jurist thrown into every parent’s worst nightmare: his 6-year-old twins are kidnapped, and the kidnappers blackmail Scott into increasingly immoral legal decisions. Cue marital meltdown, ethical dilemmas, paranoia, and a thrill ride that suspense lovers will race through to learn what happens next. It’s a departure from the author’s lightly snarky Carter Ross series, but a welcome one for readers of Harlan Coben and Gregg Hurwitz.” – Donna Matturri, Pickertington Public Library, Pickerington, OH

Why try the audio? Winner of the Shamus, Nero, and Lefty Awards, Parks does not disappoint in his suspenseful, engrossing thriller about a couple who become the stars of their worst nightmare. Narrator George Newbern, film and television actor with recent guest starring roles on Scandal and The Mentalist, harnesses the tension between Scott and Alison as they will stop at nothing to get their children back, keeping listeners guessing as to if their relationship will survive this turmoil.   

Praise for SAY NOTHING:

“Parks’s (The Fraud) previous novels have been good, but this is his best to date. Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone.” — Library Journal (starred review)

“Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end. What could be better than that?”—Sue Grafton

“Outstanding—starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. SAY NOTHING shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form.”—Lee Child

“SAY NOTHING is tremendously satisfying, packed with engaging characters and surprising plot twists and a furious build of tension until its gut-wrenching pay-off.”— Chris Pavone, author of The Travelers

“A twisting, suspenseful ride that adds a new and original twist to the legal thriller: a judge, cornered. If you haven’t discovered Brad Parks yet, SAY NOTHING is your chance. Smart, propulsive storytelling.”—William Landay

THE STRANGER IN THE WOODS
By Michael Finkel
Read by Mark Bramhall

LISTEN TO A CLIP: THE STRANGER IN THE WOODS

LibraryReads review: “There are three types of hermits in the world, according to Finkel: protesters, pilgrims, and pursuers. But Christopher Knight doesn’t seem to fit any of these categories. So why, at the age of 20, did he drive into a forest in Maine and disappear for 27 years, his only human interaction a single ‘hi’ with a passing hiker? This book uses the incredible but true story of Knight, ‘the last true hermit,’ to explore themes of solitude, introversion and the meaning of life.” – Megan Tristao, San Jose Public Library, San Jose, CA

Why try the audio? Finkel’s detailed narrative of Christopher Knight’s 27-year seclusion in the woods of Maine is powerful and irresistible, especially as Finkel was the only person that Knight granted access. Narrator Mark Bramhall, repeatedly honored for his reading by AudioFile magazine, takes listeners on the gripping journey of the last true hermit as they consider larger questions of community and what it means to live a happy life.

Praise for THE STRANGER IN THE WOODS:

“The narrative that emerges from Finkel’s compassionate research not only probes the nature of the relationship between the individual and society, but also ponders the meaning of happiness and fulfillment in the modern world. A thoughtful, honest, and poignant portrait.” – Kirkus Reviews

“The questions it raises remain deeply compelling.” – Publishers Weekly

IF NOT FOR YOU
By Debbie Macomber
Read by Khristine Hvam

LISTEN TO A CLIP: IF NOT FOR YOU

LibraryReads review: “High school music teacher, Beth, and tattooed auto mechanic, Sam, are set up by mutual friends, but neither sees a relationship developing. Their mutual disinterest quickly turns into friendship and then develops into much more. Just as their romantic relationship truly begins, Beth’s controlling mother and Sam’s hidden past get in the way and threaten to break them apart. As fans have grown to expect from Macomber, this tale tugs the heartstrings in every direction but is ultimately uplifting. It’s impossible not to fall in love with her characters.” – Jenna Friebel, Oak Park Public Library, Oak Park, IL

Why try the audio? #1 New York Times bestselling author Macomber brings a powerful and uplifting opposites-attract story that is heart-wrenching and relatable. Narrator Khristine Hvam, two-time Audie Award winner, takes listeners on an emotionally-stirring journey that questions how far one is willing to go to fight for love and the choices we make that go against everything we are. This story also features linked characters to A Girl’s Guide to Moving On: Nichole and Rocco.

This title is also available in Large Print.

Praise for IF NOT FOR YOU:

“Narrator Khristine Hvam brings out all the terror of the accident, and makes the story and its characters appealing and believable…. Hvam will captivate listeners with her performance of Macomber’s newest classic.” — AudioFile Review (Earphones Award Winner!)

“Characters as warm and relatable as your best friends,” with “betrayal, passion, heartbreak and healing,” and most of all, “timeless wisdom [that] will stay with you long after the book is closed.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs

“This latest from the prolific Macomber is a fun, sweet read that fans of her style will undoubtedly find satisfying.” – Publishers Weekly

See all ten of March’s LibraryReads 2017 picks on the LibraryReads site.

Sign up for our newsletters to get more behind-the-mic news!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts