LibraryReads Make Great Listens 88 Results

LibraryReads are the top 10 books published each month that librarians across the country love—and they make great listens, too! Below is a round-up of all LibraryReads titles that are available from BOT. Find all of our LibraryReads blog posts here or learn more about the program and how to get involved at www.libraryreads.org.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 8
cover_9780735208216
Author: Swan Huntley | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: June 28, 2016
A spellbinding psychological debut novel, Swan Huntley's We Could Be Beautiful is the story of a wealthy woman who has everything—and yet can trust no one.

Catherine West has spent her entire life surrounded by beautiful things.
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780735208216
Add To List
cover_9780735208216
cover_9780451483331
Author: Susie Steiner | Narrator: Juanita McMahon
Release Date: June 28, 2016
For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case.

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780451483331
Add To List
cover_9780451483331
cover_9780451483966
Author: Anne Tyler | Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Release Date: June 21, 2016
Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies
 
Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $32
ISBN: 9780451483966
Add To List
cover_9780451483966
cover_9780735209824
Author: Yaa Gyasi | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Release Date: June 07, 2016
Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates 

A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations, Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780735209824
Add To List
cover_9780735209824
cover_9780735206762
Author: Dan Vyleta | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Release Date: May 24, 2016
"Smoke is an addictive combination of thriller, fantasy, and historical novel, with a dash of horror. It’s chilling and complex and amazingly imaginative.’” 
—Marilyn Dahl, Shelf Awareness



England.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780735206762
Add To List
cover_9780735206762
cover_9780399566301
Author: Stephanie Danler | Narrator: Alex McKenna
Release Date: May 24, 2016
You will develop a palate. A palate is a spot on your tongue where you remember. Where you assign words to the textures of taste. Eating becomes a discipline, language-obsessed. You will never simply eat food again.

These are the words that introduce us to Tess, the twenty-two-year-old narrator of Sweetbitter—and you will never again read a debut coming-of-age novel as stunning as this one.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780399566301
Add To List
cover_9780399566301
cover_9780804195102
Author: Clare Mackintosh | Narrator: Nicola Barber and Steven Crossley
Release Date: May 03, 2016
The next blockbuster thriller for those who loved The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl... “a finely crafted novel with a killer twist.” (Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train)
 
On a rainy afternoon, a mother's life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into the street .
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804195102
Add To List
cover_9780804195102
cover_9780307736666
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: April 19, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Wonderfully tender and hilariously funny, Eligible tackles gender, class, courtship, and family as Curtis Sittenfeld reaffirms herself as one of the most dazzling authors writing today.

This version of the Bennet family—and Mr.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780307736666
Add To List
cover_9780307736666
cover_9781101889602
Author: Martha Hall Kelly | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell, Kathleen Gati, Martha Hall Kelly and Kathrin Kana
Release Date: April 05, 2016
Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.
 
New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781101889602
Add To List
cover_9781101889602
cover_9781101888599
Author: Helen Simonson | Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Release Date: March 22, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781101888599
Add To List
cover_9781101888599
cover_9780147524874
Author: Lyndsay Faye | Narrator: Susie Riddell
Release Date: March 22, 2016
The reimagining of Jane Eyre as a gutsy, heroic serial killer that The New York Times Book Review calls “wonderfully entertaining” and USA Today describes as “sheer mayhem meets Victorian propriety.”
 
“A thrill ride of a novel.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780147524874
Add To List
cover_9780147524874
cover_9780399567803
Author: Elizabeth Brundage | Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Release Date: March 08, 2016
A dark, riveting, beautifully written book—by “a brilliant novelist,” according to Richard Bausch—that combines noir and the gothic in a story about two families entwined in their own unhappiness, with, at its heart, a gruesome and unsolved murder
 
Late one winter afternoon in upstate New York, George Clare comes home to find his wife killed and their three-year-old daughter alone—for how many hours.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780399567803
Add To List
cover_9780399567803