LibraryReads 21 Results

LibraryReads are the top 10 books published each month that librarians across the country love—and they make great listens, too! Below is a round-up of all LibraryReads titles that are available from BOT. Learn more at www.libraryreads.org.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 2
cover
Author: E. Lockhart | Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Category: Juvenile Fiction - Family - General
Release Date: May 13, 2014

"Thrilling, beautiful, and blisteringly smart, We Were Liars is utterly unforgettable." - John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars

 

A beautiful and distinguished family.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780804168410
cover
cover
Author: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Category: Fiction - Coming Of Age
Release Date: May 13, 2014
Suspenseful and cinematic, Bittersweet exposes the gothic underbelly of an idyllic world of privilege and an outsider’s hunger to belong.
   On scholarship at a prestigious East Coast college, ordinary Mabel Dagmar is surprised to befriend her roommate, the beautiful, wild, blue-blooded Genevra Winslow.
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804192002
cover
cover
Author: Ruth Reichl | Narrator: Julia Whelan
Category: Fiction - Contemporary Women
Release Date: May 06, 2014
In her bestselling memoirs Ruth Reichl has long illuminated the theme of how food defines us, and never more so than in her dazzling fiction debut about sisters, family ties, and a young woman who must finally let go of guilt and grief to embrace her own true gifts.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385393461
cover
cover
Author: Julia Glass | Narrator: Mark Deakins
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: April 01, 2014

In this richly detailed novel about the quest for an unknown father, Julia Glass brings new characters together with familiar figures from her first two novels, immersing readers in a panorama that stretches from suburban New Jersey to rural Vermont and ultimately to the tip of Cape Cod.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780449011355
cover
cover
Author: Laura McHugh | Narrator: Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Shannon McManus and Sofia Willingham
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: March 18, 2014
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.
 
The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780553546033
cover
cover
Author: Susan Rieger | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman, Arthur Morey, Kathe Mazur and Various
Category: Fiction - Contemporary Women
Release Date: March 18, 2014
Witty and wonderful, sparkling and sophisticated, this debut romantic comedy brilliantly tells the story of one very messy, very high-profile divorce, and the endearingly cynical young lawyer dragooned into handling it.
 
Twenty-nine-year-old Sophie Diehl is happy toiling away as a criminal law associate at an old line New England firm where she very much appreciates that most of her clients are behind bars.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804166355
cover
cover
Author: Chris Pavone | Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: March 11, 2014

From the author of the New York Times-bestselling and Edgar Award-winning The Expats
 
As dawn approaches in New York, literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious, anonymous manuscript, racing through the explosive revelations about powerful people, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804165990
cover
cover
Author: Jennifer McMahon | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell and Kathe Mazur
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: February 11, 2014
The New York Times bestselling author of Promise Not to Tell returns with a simmering literary thriller about ghostly secrets, dark choices, and the unbreakable bond between mothers and daughters . . . sometimes too unbreakable.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804165174
cover
cover
Author: Ariel Lawhon | Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
Category: Fiction - Historical
Release Date: January 28, 2014
“Inspired by a real-life unsolved mystery, this mesmerizing novel features characters that make a lasting impression.”--PEOPLE MAGAZINE

"More meticulously choreographed than a chorus line. It all pays off."--THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW


They say behind every great man, there's a woman.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804148887
cover
cover
Author: April Smith | Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Category: Fiction - War
Release Date: January 28, 2014
The United States Congress in 1929 passed legislation to fund travel for mothers of the fallen soldiers of World War I to visit their sons’ graves in France. Over the next three years, 6,693 Gold Star Mothers made the trip. In this emotionally charged, brilliantly realized novel, April Smith breathes life into a unique moment in American history, imagining the experience of five of these women.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780804166256
cover
cover
Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Category: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - General
Release Date: January 14, 2014
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

On a spring morning in 1951, eleven-year-old chemist and aspiring detective Flavia de Luce gathers with her family at the railway station, awaiting the return of her long-lost mother, Harriet. Yet upon the train’s arrival in the English village of Bishop’s Lacey, Flavia is approached by a tall stranger who whispers a cryptic message into her ear.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780307879875
cover
cover
Author: Scott Stossel | Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
Category: Psychology - Psychopathology - Anxieties & Phobias
Release Date: January 07, 2014
A riveting, revelatory, and moving account of the author’s struggles with anxiety, and of the history of efforts by scientists, philosophers, and writers to understand the condition
 
As recently as thirty-five years ago, anxiety did not exist as a diagnostic category.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804148900
cover