LibraryReads 26 Results

LibraryReads are the top 10 books published each month that librarians across the country love—and they make great listens, too! Below is a round-up of all LibraryReads titles that are available from BOT. Find all of our LibraryReads blog posts here or learn more about the program and how to get involved at www.libraryreads.org.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 3
cover
Author: Amy Bloom | Narrator: Alicyn Packard
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: July 29, 2014
“My father’s wife died. My mother said we should drive down to his place and see what might be in it for us.”

So begins this remarkable novel by Amy Bloom, whose critically acclaimed Away was called “a literary triumph” (The New York Times).
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780804191364
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Chris Bohjalian | Narrator: Grace Blewer
Category: Fiction - Coming Of Age
Release Date: July 08, 2014

A heartbreaking, wildly inventive, and moving novel narrated by a teenage runaway, from the bestselling author of Midwives and The Sandcastle Girls.

Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands is the story of Emily Shepard, a homeless teen living in an igloo made of ice and trash bags filled with frozen leaves.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780307917485
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Lauren Owen | Narrator: Simon Slater
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: June 17, 2014
For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London
 
1892. James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780804165495
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: George R.R. Martin, Gardner Dozois, Gillian Flynn and Neil Gaiman | Narrator: Various
Category: Fiction - Fantasy - Collections & Anthologies
Release Date: June 17, 2014
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A thrilling collection of twenty-one original stories by an all-star list of contributors—including a new A Game of Thrones story by George R. R. Martin.

 
If you’re a fan of fiction that is more than just black and white, this latest story collection from #1 New York Times bestselling author George R.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780553398748
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Lisa See | Narrator: Jodi Long
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: June 03, 2014
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, and Shanghai Girls has garnered international acclaim for her great skill at rendering the intricate relationships of women and the complex meeting of history and fate.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385394178
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: E. Lockhart | Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Category: Juvenile Fiction - Family - General
Release Date: May 13, 2014

A New York Times Bestseller

"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents."--Wall Street Journal

"A rich, stunning summer mystery with a sharp twist that will leave you dying to talk about the book with a pal or ten.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780804168410
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Category: Fiction - Coming Of Age
Release Date: May 13, 2014
Suspenseful and cinematic, Bittersweet exposes the gothic underbelly of an idyllic world of privilege and an outsider’s hunger to belong.
   On scholarship at a prestigious East Coast college, ordinary Mabel Dagmar is surprised to befriend her roommate, the beautiful, wild, blue-blooded Genevra Winslow.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804192002
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Ruth Reichl | Narrator: Julia Whelan
Category: Fiction - Contemporary Women
Release Date: May 06, 2014
In her bestselling memoirs Ruth Reichl has long illuminated the theme of how food defines us, and never more so than in her dazzling fiction debut about sisters, family ties, and a young woman who must finally let go of guilt and grief to embrace her own true gifts.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385393461
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Julia Glass | Narrator: Mark Deakins
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: April 01, 2014

In this richly detailed novel about the quest for an unknown father, Julia Glass brings new characters together with familiar figures from her first two novels, immersing readers in a panorama that stretches from suburban New Jersey to rural Vermont and ultimately to the tip of Cape Cod.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780449011355
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Laura McHugh | Narrator: Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Shannon McManus and Sofia Willingham
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: March 18, 2014
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.
 
The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780553546033
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Susan Rieger | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman, Arthur Morey, Kathe Mazur and Various
Category: Fiction - Contemporary Women
Release Date: March 18, 2014
Witty and wonderful, sparkling and sophisticated, this debut romantic comedy brilliantly tells the story of one very messy, very high-profile divorce, and the endearingly cynical young lawyer dragooned into handling it.
 
Twenty-nine-year-old Sophie Diehl is happy toiling away as a criminal law associate at an old line New England firm where she very much appreciates that most of her clients are behind bars.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804166355
Add To List
cover
cover
Author: Chris Pavone | Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: March 11, 2014

From the author of the New York Times-bestselling and Edgar Award-winning The Expats
 
As dawn approaches in New York, literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious, anonymous manuscript, racing through the explosive revelations about powerful people, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804165990
Add To List
cover