LibraryReads 41 Results

LibraryReads are the top 10 books published each month that librarians across the country love—and they make great listens, too! Below is a round-up of all LibraryReads titles that are available from BOT. Find all of our LibraryReads blog posts here or learn more about the program and how to get involved at www.libraryreads.org.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 4
cover_9780553551648
Author: Erik Larson | Narrator: Scott Brick
Release Date: March 10, 2015
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551648
Add To List
cover_9780553551648
cover_9781101888193
Author: David Joy | Narrator: MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: March 03, 2015
"Lyrical, propulsive, dark and compelling. Joy knows well the grit and gravel of his world, the soul and blemishes of the place."--Daniel Woodrell

In the country-noir tradition of Winter's Bone meets 'Breaking Bad,' a savage and beautiful story of a young man seeking redemption.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $66.50
ISBN: 9781101888193
Add To List
cover_9781101888193
cover_9780553410129
Author: Rachel Joyce | Narrator: Celia Imrie
Release Date: March 03, 2015
From the bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry comes an exquisite love story about Queenie Hennessy, the remarkable friend who inspired Harold’s cross-country journey.

A runaway international bestseller, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry followed its unassuming hero on an incredible journey as he traveled the length of England on foot—a journey spurred by a simple letter from his old friend Queenie Hennessy, writing from a hospice to say goodbye.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780553410129
Add To List
cover_9780553410129
cover_9781101889442
Author: Kate Alcott | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: February 17, 2015
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker comes a blockbuster novel that takes you behind the scenes of the filming of Gone with the Wind, while turning the spotlight on the passionate romance between its dashing leading man, Clark Gable, and the blithe, free-spirited actress Carole Lombard.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781101889442
Add To List
cover_9781101889442
cover_9781101888124
Author: M.O. Walsh | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Release Date: February 10, 2015
The debut novel everyone is talking about...
 
“The last page is as satisfying as the first.” —Kathryn Stockett
 
“I really loved this book... I can't praise it enough.”—Anne Rice
 
“It's a book to read and reread, one that will only get better with time.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781101888124
Add To List
cover_9781101888124
cover_9780553551051
Author: Anne Tyler | Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Release Date: February 10, 2015

“It was a beautiful, breezy, yellow-and-green afternoon. . .” This is how Abby Whitshank always begins the story of how she fell in love with Red that day in July 1959. The Whitshanks are one of those families that radiate togetherness.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551051
Add To List
cover_9780553551051
cover_9781101887974
Author: Paula Hawkins | Narrator: Louise Brealey, Clare Corbett and India Fisher
Release Date: January 13, 2015

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . [It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership.”—The New York Times

“Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781101887974
Add To List
cover_9781101887974
cover_9780449807637
Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 06, 2015
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Flavia de Luce—“part Harriet the Spy, part Violet Baudelaire from Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events” (The New York Times Book Review)—takes her remarkable sleuthing prowess to the unexpectedly unsavory world of Canadian boarding schools in the captivating new mystery from New York Times bestselling author Alan Bradley.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780449807637
Add To List
cover_9780449807637
cover_9780553545623
Author: Priya Parmar | Narrator: Emilia Fox, Various, Clare Corbett and Julian Rhind-Tutt
Release Date: December 30, 2014
For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780553545623
Add To List
cover_9780553545623
cover_9780804129039
Author: Jodi Picoult | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman, Mark Deakins, Kathe Mazur and Abigail Revasch
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Throughout her blockbuster career, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult has seamlessly blended nuanced characters, riveting plots, and rich prose, brilliantly creating stories that “not only provoke the mind but touch the flawed souls in all of us” (The Boston Globe).
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804129039
Add To List
cover_9780804129039
cover_9780804194136
Author: Jane Smiley | Narrator: Lorelei King
Release Date: October 07, 2014
Longlisted for the 2014 National Book Award

From the winner of the Pulitzer Prize. a powerful, engrossing new novel—the life and times of a remarkable family over three transformative decades in America. 

On their farm in Denby, Iowa, Rosanna and Walter Langdon abide by time-honored values that they pass on to their five wildly different children.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $98
ISBN: 9780804194136
Add To List
cover_9780804194136
cover_9780553544848
Author: Sarah Waters | Narrator: Juliet Stevenson
Release Date: September 16, 2014
From the bestselling author of The Little Stranger and Fingersmith, an enthralling novel about a widow and her daughter who take a young couple into their home in 1920s London.

It is 1922, and London is tense.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $60
ISBN: 9780553544848
Add To List
cover_9780553544848