LibraryReads Make Great Listens 51 Results

LibraryReads are the top 10 books published each month that librarians across the country love—and they make great listens, too! Below is a round-up of all LibraryReads titles that are available from BOT. Find all of our LibraryReads blog posts here or learn more about the program and how to get involved at www.libraryreads.org.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 5
cover_9781101889831
Author: Nina George | Narrator: Steve West, Emma Bering and Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: June 23, 2015
“There are books that are suitable for a million people, others for only a hundred. There are even remedies—I mean books—that were written for one person only…A book is both medic and medicine at once. It makes a diagnosis as well as offering therapy.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781101889831
Add To List
cover_9781101889831
cover_9780553550870
Author: Robert Kurson | Narrator: Ray Porter
Release Date: June 16, 2015
A thrilling new adventure of danger and deep-sea diving, historic mystery and suspense, by the author of the New York Times bestseller Shadow Divers
 
Finding and identifying a pirate ship is the hardest thing to do under the sea.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780553550870
Add To List
cover_9780553550870
cover_9781101889947
Author: Annie Barrows | Narrator: Ann Marie Lee, Tara Sands, Various and Julia Whelan
Release Date: June 09, 2015
From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9781101889947
Add To List
cover_9781101889947
cover_9781101914069
Author: Judy Blume | Narrator: Kathleen McInerney
Release Date: June 02, 2015

In her highly anticipated new novel, Judy Blume, the New York Times # 1 best-selling author of Summer Sisters and of young adult classics such as Are You There God. It’s Me, Margaret, creates a richly textured and moving story of three generations of families, friends and strangers, whose lives are profoundly changed by unexpected events.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781101914069
Add To List
cover_9781101914069
cover_9781101923474
Author: Kent Haruf | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: May 26, 2015
A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $25
ISBN: 9781101923474
Add To List
cover_9781101923474
cover_9780553551013
Author: Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza | Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Release Date: May 19, 2015
An outrageously stylish, wickedly funny novel of fashion in the digital age, The Knockoff is the story of Imogen Tate, editor in chief of Glossy magazine, who finds her twentysomething former assistant Eve Morton plotting to knock Imogen off her pedestal, take over her job, and reduce the magazine, famous for its lavish 768-page September issue, into an app.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551013
Add To List
cover_9780553551013
cover_9780553410099
Author: Naomi Novik | Narrator: Julia Emelin
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Naomi Novik, author of the New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed Temeraire novels, introduces a bold new world rooted in folk stories and legends, as elemental as a Grimm fairy tale.

“Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780553410099
Add To List
cover_9780553410099
cover_9781101889077
Author: Jane Smiley | Narrator: Lorelei King
Release Date: April 28, 2015
From the Pulitzer Prize-winner. the second installment, following Some Luck, of her widely acclaimed, best-selling American trilogy, which brings the journey of a remarkable family with roots in the Iowa heartland into mid-century America

Early Warning opens in 1953 with the Langdon family at a crossroads.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9781101889077
Add To List
cover_9781101889077
cover_9781101913758
Author: Brendan Duffy | Narrator: George Newbern and Allyson Ryan
Release Date: April 14, 2015
In this enthralling and atmospheric thriller, one young family’s dream of a better life is about to become a nightmare.
 
Ben and Caroline Tierney and their two young boys are hoping to start over. Ben has hit a dead end with his new novel, Caroline has lost her banking job, and eight-year-old Charlie is being bullied at his Manhattan school.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9781101913758
Add To List
cover_9781101913758
cover_9781101889381
Author: Sara Gruen | Narrator: Justine Eyre
Release Date: March 31, 2015
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In this thrilling new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a gripping and poignant love story about a privileged young woman’s awakening as she experiences the devastation of World War II in a tiny village in the Scottish Highlands.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781101889381
Add To List
cover_9781101889381
cover_9780553551648
Author: Erik Larson | Narrator: Scott Brick
Release Date: March 10, 2015
#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania


On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551648
Add To List
cover_9780553551648
cover_9780553410129
Author: Rachel Joyce | Narrator: Celia Imrie
Release Date: March 03, 2015
From the bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry comes an exquisite love story about Queenie Hennessy, the remarkable friend who inspired Harold’s cross-country journey.

A runaway international bestseller, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry followed its unassuming hero on an incredible journey as he traveled the length of England on foot—a journey spurred by a simple letter from his old friend Queenie Hennessy, writing from a hospice to say goodbye.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780553410129
Add To List
cover_9780553410129