Fall 2013 Book Club Picks 8 Results Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 1
cover_9780804148856
Author: Luke Barr | Narrator: John Rubinstein
Release Date: October 22, 2013
Provence, 1970 is about a singular historic moment. In the winter of that year, more or less coincidentally, the iconic culinary figures James Beard, M.F.K. Fisher, Julia Child, Richard Olney, Simone Beck, and Judith Jones found themselves together in the South of France.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804148856
Add To List
cover_9780804148856
cover_9780804149426
Author: Jo Baker | Narrator: Emma Fielding
Release Date: October 08, 2013

Pride and Prejudice was only half the story •
 
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804149426
Add To List
cover_9780804149426
cover_9780804127356
Author: Bill Bryson | Narrator: Bill Bryson
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A Chicago Tribune Noteworthy Book
A GoodReads Reader's Choice

In One Summer Bill Bryson, one of our greatest and most beloved nonfiction writers, transports readers on a journey back to one amazing season in American life.


The summer of 1927 began with one of the signature events of the twentieth century.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804127356
Add To List
cover_9780804127356
cover_9780804164870
Author: Jennifer duBois | Narrator: Emily Rankin
Release Date: September 24, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
Slate • Cosmopolitan • Salon • BuzzFeed • BookPage

Written with the riveting storytelling of authors like Emma Donoghue, Adam Johnson, Ann Patchett, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Cartwheel is a suspenseful and haunting novel of an American foreign exchange student arrested for murder, and a father trying to hold his family together.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804164870
Add To List
cover_9780804164870
cover_9780385367424
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri | Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Release Date: September 24, 2013

National Book Award Finalist

Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of The Namesake comes an extraordinary new novel, set in both India and America, that expands the scope and range of one of our most dazzling storytellers.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385367424
Add To List
cover_9780385367424
cover_9780804128117
Author: Sheri Fink | Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Release Date: September 10, 2013

One of the New York Times’s Best Ten Books of the Year

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction


Winner of the 2014 J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize, the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the Ridenhour Book Prize, the 2014 American Medical Writers Association Medical Book Award (Public/Healthcare Consumers), a 2014 Science in Society Journalism Award, and the SIBA 2014 Book Award for Nonfiction

An ALA Notable Book, finalist for the NYPL 2014 Helen Bernstein Award, shortlisted for the PEN/E.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804128117
Add To List
cover_9780804128117
cover_9780804120548
Author: Ben Foss | Narrator: Ben Foss
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Finally, a groundbreaking book that reveals what your dyslexic child is experiencing—and what you can do so that he or she will thrive

More than thirty million people in the United States are dyslexic—a brain-based genetic trait, often labeled as a “learning disability” or “learning difference,” that makes interpreting text and reading difficult.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804120548
Add To List
cover_9780804120548
cover_9780307932679
Author: Marisha Pessl | Narrator: Jake Weber
Release Date: August 20, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780307932679
Add To List
cover_9780307932679