Fall 2013 Book Club Picks 21 Results Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 2
cover
Author: Jamie Ford | Narrator: Ryan Gesell
Category: Fiction - Historical
Release Date: September 10, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From Jamie Ford, author of the beloved Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, comes a much-anticipated second novel. Set against the backdrop of Depression-era Seattle, Songs of Willow Frost is a powerful tale of two souls—a boy with dreams for his future and a woman escaping her haunted past—both seeking love, hope, and forgiveness.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780307876232
cover
cover
Author: Marisha Pessl | Narrator: Jake Weber
Category: Fiction - Thrillers - Suspense
Release Date: August 20, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780307932679
cover
cover
Author: Jonathan Lethem | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: September 17, 2013
A dazzling novel from one of our finest writers—an epic yet intimate family saga about three generations of all-American radicals

At the center of Jonathan Lethem’s superb new novel stand two extraordinary women. Rose Zimmer, the aptly nicknamed Red Queen of Sunnyside, Queens, is an unreconstructed Communist who savages neighbors, family, and political comrades with the ferocity of her personality and the absolutism of her beliefs.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780307940919
cover
cover
Author: C. C. Benison | Narrator: Steve West and Jean Gilpin
Category: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - General
Release Date: December 03, 2013
The delightful Father Tom Christmas returns, and the cozy hamlet of Thornford Regis comes to life, in C. C. Benison’s witty, beautifully written series that is “a must-read for lovers of classic English mysteries” (Kirkus Reviews).
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780307943866
cover
cover
Author: Nina Munk | Narrator: Susan Nezami
Category: Social Science - Third World Development
Release Date: September 10, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
BloombergForbesThe Spectator

Recipient of Foreign Policy's 2013 Albie Award


A powerful portrayal of Jeffrey Sachs's ambitious quest to end global poverty
    
 "The poor you will always have with you," to cite the Gospel of Matthew 26.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780307944016
cover
cover
Author: Pat Conroy | Narrator: Dick Hill
Category: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs
Release Date: October 29, 2013
In this powerful and intimate memoir, the beloved bestselling author of The Prince of Tides and his father, the inspiration for The Great Santini, find some common ground at long last.

Pat Conroy’s father, Donald Patrick Conroy, was a towering figure in his son’s life.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780307989840
cover
cover
Author: Paul Harding | Narrator: Paul Harding
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: September 10, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST NOVELS OF THE YEAR BY
The Wall Street Journal • American Library Association • Kirkus Reviews

A stunning allegorical novel about one man’s enduring love for his daughter


Hailed as “a masterpiece” (NPR), Tinkers, Paul Harding’s Pulitzer Prize–winning debut, is a modern classic.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780385363044
cover
cover
Author: Margaret Atwood | Narrator: Bernadette Dunne, Bob Walter and Robbie Daymond
Category: Fiction - Science Fiction - Action & Adventure
Release Date: September 03, 2013
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Notable Book
A Best Book of the Year. The Guardian, NPR, The Christian Science Monitor, The Globe and Mail
A GoodReads Reader's Choice

Bringing together Oryx and Crake and The Year of the Flood, this thrilling conclusion to Margaret Atwood's speculative fiction trilogy points toward the ultimate endurance of community, and love.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385367400
cover
cover
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri | Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Category: Fiction - Literary
Release Date: September 24, 2013

National Book Award Finalist

Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of The Namesake comes an extraordinary new novel, set in both India and America, that expands the scope and range of one of our most dazzling storytellers.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385367424
cover
cover
Author: Ben Foss | Narrator: Ben Foss
Category: Education - Special Education - Communicative Disorders
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Finally, a groundbreaking book that reveals what your dyslexic child is experiencing—and what you can do so that he or she will thrive
 
More than thirty million people in the United States are dyslexic—a brain-based genetic trait, often labeled as a “learning disability” or “learning difference,” that makes interpreting text and reading difficult.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804120548
cover
cover
Author: Bill Bryson | Narrator: Bill Bryson
Category: History - United States - 20th Century
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A Chicago Tribune Noteworthy Book
A GoodReads Reader's Choice

In One Summer Bill Bryson, one of our greatest and most beloved nonfiction writers, transports readers on a journey back to one amazing season in American life.


The summer of 1927 began with one of the signature events of the twentieth century.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804127356
cover
cover
Author: Matt Greene | Narrator: Matthew Frow and Suzan Crowley
Category: Fiction - Coming Of Age
Release Date: August 27, 2013
A brilliant and moving coming-of-age story in the tradition of Wonder by R. J. Palacio and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon—this debut novel is written with tremendous humor and charm.
 
This is Alex’s story.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780804127509
cover