BOT’s Best of 2013 28 Results

BOT celebrates this year’s all-star audios on “Best Of” lists pulled from the country’s top publications, including The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, AudioFile Magazine, Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, and more!

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 3
cover_9780307987600
Author: Gardner Dozois and George R. R. Martin | Narrator: Various
Release Date: December 03, 2013
All new and original to this volume, the 21 stories in Dangerous Women include work by twelve New York Times bestsellers, and seven stories set in the authors’ bestselling continuities—including a new “Outlander” story by Diana Gabaldon, a  tale of Harry Dresden’s world by Jim Butcher, a story from Lev Grossman set in the world of The Magicians, and a 35,000-word novella by George R.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780307987600
Add To List
cover_9780307987600
cover_9780804149044
Author: Jung Chang | Narrator: Jolene Kim
Release Date: October 29, 2013

A New York Times Notable Book

Empress Dowager Cixi (1835–1908) is the most important woman in Chinese history. She ruled China for decades and brought a medieval empire into the modern age.
At the age of sixteen, in a nationwide selection for royal consorts, Cixi was chosen as one of the emperor’s numerous concubines.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804149044
Add To List
cover_9780804149044
cover_9780385362368
Author: Peter Baker | Narrator: Mark Deakins
Release Date: October 22, 2013

In Days of Fire, Peter Baker, Chief White House Correspondent for The New York Times, takes us on a gripping and intimate journey through the eight years of the Bush and Cheney administration in a tour-de-force narrative of a dramatic and controversial presidency.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $70
ISBN: 9780385362368
Add To List
cover_9780385362368
cover_9780804149426
Author: Jo Baker | Narrator: Emma Fielding
Release Date: October 08, 2013

Pride and Prejudice was only half the story •
 
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804149426
Add To List
cover_9780804149426
cover_9780804191180
Author: Dave Eggers | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: October 08, 2013
Soon to be a Major Motion Picture, The Circle is the exhilarating novel from Dave Eggers, best-selling author of Heroes of the Frontier.
 
When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804191180
Add To List
cover_9780804191180
cover_9780804190367
Author: Ann Mah | Narrator: Mozhan Marno
Release Date: September 26, 2013
The memoir of a young diplomat’s wife who must reinvent her dream of living in Paris—one dish at a time

When journalist Ann Mah’s diplomat husband is given a three-year assignment in Paris, Ann is overjoyed. A lifelong foodie and Francophile, she immediately begins plotting gastronomic adventures à deux.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780804190367
Add To List
cover_9780804190367
cover_9780385367424
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri | Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Release Date: September 24, 2013

National Book Award Finalist

Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of The Namesake comes an extraordinary new novel, set in both India and America, that expands the scope and range of one of our most dazzling storytellers.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780385367424
Add To List
cover_9780385367424
cover_9780804149563
Author: Bill Dedman and Paul Clark Newell, Jr. | Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Release Date: September 10, 2013
When Pulitzer Prizewinning journalist Bill Dedman noticed in 2009 a grand home for sale, unoccupied for nearly sixty years, he stumbled through a surprising portal into American history. Empty Mansions is a rich mystery of wealth and loss, connecting the Gilded Age opulence of the nineteenth century with a twenty-first-century battle over a $300 million inheritance.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804149563
Add To List
cover_9780804149563
cover_9780804148535
Author: George Johnson | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: August 27, 2013

When the woman he loved was diagnosed with a metastatic cancer, science writer George Johnson embarked on a journey to learn everything he could about the disease and the people who dedicate their lives to understanding and combating it. What he discovered is a revolution under way—an explosion of new ideas about what cancer really is and where it comes from.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780804148535
Add To List
cover_9780804148535
cover_9780307932679
Author: Marisha Pessl | Narrator: Jake Weber
Release Date: August 20, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780307932679
Add To List
cover_9780307932679
cover_9780804120760
Author: Javier Marias and Margaret Jull Costa | Narrator: Justine Eyre
Release Date: August 13, 2013

From the award-winning Spanish writer Javier Marías comes an extraordinary new book that has been a literary sensation around the world. an immersive, provocative novel propelled by a seemingly random murder that we come to understand—or do we.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $85.50
ISBN: 9780804120760
Add To List
cover_9780804120760
cover_9780804148757
Author: Reza Aslan | Narrator: Reza Aslan
Release Date: July 16, 2013
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A lucid, intelligent page-turner” (Los Angeles Times) that challenges long-held assumptions about Jesus, from the host of Believer
 
Two thousand years ago, an itinerant Jewish preacher walked across the Galilee, gathering followers to establish what he called the “Kingdom of God.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780804148757
Add To List
cover_9780804148757