Immigrants and Refugees 56 Results

Share stories about the immigrant experience to spread compassion, teach understanding, and promote diversity in children’s and adult literature. For more diverse listens for kids and teens visit www.heardiversity.com and www.readproudlistenproud.com.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 5
cover_9780525499480
Author: Reihan Salam
Release Date: September 25, 2018
For too long, liberals have suggested that only cruel, racist, or nativist bigots would want to restrict immigration. Anyone motivated by compassion and egalitarianism would choose open, or nearly-open, borders—or so the argument goes. Now, Rei...
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525499480
Add To List
cover_9780525499480
cover_9780735210097
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, wher...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780735210097
Add To List
cover_9780735210097
cover_9780525526308
Author: Elizabeth Weil and Clemantine Wamariya | Narrator: Robin Miles
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not—could not—live in that tale.”   Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525526308
Add To List
cover_9780525526308
cover_9780525531890
Author: Rebecca Erbelding | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: April 10, 2018
America has long been criticized for refusing to give harbor to the Jews of Europe as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. Now a lauded Holocaust historian tells the extraordinary story of the War Refugee Board, President Franklin D. Roosevelt's little-kn...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780525531890
Add To List
cover_9780525531890
cover_9780525529569
Author: Elaine Castillo | Narrator: Donnabella Mortel
Release Date: April 03, 2018
"A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo is part of a younger generation of American writers instilling literature with a layered sense of identity." --Vogue How many lives fit in a lifetime? When Hero De Vera arrives in A...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780525529569
Add To List
cover_9780525529569
cover_9780525526513
Author: Lauren Hilgers | Narrator: Angela Lin
Release Date: March 20, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICEThe deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds  In 2014, in a snow-covered house in Flushing, Queens, a village revo...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525526513
Add To List
cover_9780525526513
cover_9780525524564
Author: Xhenet Aliu | Narrator: Lauren Fortgang and Therese Plummer
Release Date: January 23, 2018
“A fierce, big-hearted, unflinching debut”* novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream *Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere A waitress at the Betsy Ross Diner, Elsie...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525524564
Add To List
cover_9780525524564
cover_9780525498391
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le CarréA New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017One of the New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2017A visionary exploration of the life and times of Joseph Co...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525498391
Add To List
cover_9780525498391
cover_9780525498032
Author: Daniel Alarcón | Narrator: David DeSantos
Release Date: October 31, 2017
LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTIONAn urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning aut...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $66.50
ISBN: 9780525498032
Add To List
cover_9780525498032
cover_9780525524007
Author: Khizr Khan | Narrator: Khizr Khan
Release Date: October 24, 2017
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream. NAMED ONE OF THE FIVE BEST MEMOIRS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST   “Moving . ....
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525524007
Add To List
cover_9780525524007
cover_9780525500964
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow frie...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $30
ISBN: 9780525500964
Add To List
cover_9780525500964
cover_9780525495765
Author: Lauren Markham | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: September 12, 2017
The deeply reported story of identical twin brothers who escape El Salvador's violence to build new lives in California—fighting to survive, to stay, and to belong.Growing up in rural El Salvador in the wake of the civil war, the United States ...
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525495765
Add To List
cover_9780525495765