Audiobooks About Immigrants and Refugees 60 Results

Share stories about the immigrant experience to spread compassion, teach understanding, and promote diversity in children’s and adult literature. For more diverse listens for kids and teens visit www.heardiversity.com and www.readproudlistenproud.com.

Download This List For Excel  Send Collection To Cart 
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 5
cover_9780525499480
Author: Reihan Salam
Release Date: July 31, 2018
Will the America of the future be peaceful and united, or it will be wracked by intense ethnic and class conflicts that will undermine our most cherished ideals. Reihan Salam, one of today’s brightest young conservatives, argues that the answer hinges on how we as a society choose to manage immigration.
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525499480
Add To List
cover_9780525499480
cover_9780735210097
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.
 
Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls’ school, Daisy Khan experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school and live with an aunt and uncle in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb.
List Price: $57
ISBN: 9780735210097
Add To List
cover_9780735210097
cover_9780525526308
Author: Elizabeth Weil and Clemantine Wamariya
Release Date: April 24, 2018
“The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not—could not—live in that tale.”
 
Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to speak in whispers, when neighbors began to disappear, and when she heard the loud, ugly sounds her brother said were thunder.
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525526308
Add To List
cover_9780525526308
cover_9780525494546
Author: Alex Wagner | Narrator: Alex Wagner
Release Date: April 17, 2018
A journalist travels the globe searching for answers to the mystery of her own ancestry, along the way raising deeper questions about the American experience of race, immigration, exile, and identity.
 
The daughter of a Burmese mother and a white American father, Alex Wagner grew up thinking of herself as a “futureface”—an avatar of a mixed-race future when all races would merge into a brown singularity.
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780525494546
Add To List
cover_9780525494546
cover_9780525531890
Author: Rebecca Erbelding
Release Date: April 10, 2018
America has long been criticized for refusing to give harbor to the Jews of Europe as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. Now a U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum scholar tells the extraordinary story of the War Refugee Board, President Franklin D. Roosevelt's little-known effort late in the war to save the Jews who remained.
List Price: $85.50
ISBN: 9780525531890
Add To List
cover_9780525531890
cover_9780525529569
Author: Elaine Castillo
Release Date: April 03, 2018
Three generations of women from one immigrant family trying to reconcile the home they left behind with the life they're building in America

How many lives can one person lead in a single lifetime. When Hero de Vera arrives in America, disowned by her parents in the Philippines, she's already on her third.
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780525529569
Add To List
cover_9780525529569
cover_9780525526513
Author: Lauren Hilgers
Release Date: March 20, 2018
The deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds
 
In 2014, in a snow-covered house in Flushing, Queens, a village revolutionary from Southern China considered his options.
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525526513
Add To List
cover_9780525526513
cover_9780525524564
Author: Xhenet Aliu | Narrator: Lauren Fortgang and Therese Plummer
Release Date: January 23, 2018
“A fierce, big-hearted, unflinching debut”* novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream

*Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere

A waitress at the Betsy Ross Diner, Elsie hopes her nickel-and-dime tips will add up to a new life.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525524564
Add To List
cover_9780525524564
cover_9780525498391
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le Carré

New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017

A visionary exploration of the life and times of Joseph Conrad, his turbulent age of globalization and our own, from one of the most exciting young historians writing today

Migration, terrorism, the tensions between global capitalism and nationalism, and a communications revolution.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $76
ISBN: 9780525498391
Add To List
cover_9780525498391
cover_9780525498032
Author: Daniel Alarcón | Narrator: David DeSantos
Release Date: October 31, 2017
LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

An urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning author of War by Candlelight and At Night We Walk in Circles.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $66.50
ISBN: 9780525498032
Add To List
cover_9780525498032
cover_9780525524007
Author: Khizr Khan | Narrator: Khizr Khan
Release Date: October 24, 2017
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream.

NAMED ONE OF THE FIVE BEST MEMOIRS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST
 
“Moving .
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780525524007
Add To List
cover_9780525524007
cover_9780525500964
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $30
ISBN: 9780525500964
Add To List
cover_9780525500964