historical 33 Results
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 3
cover_9781524751890
Author: Jennifer Ryan
Release Date: February 14, 2017
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A delightful debut.”—People 

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781524721367
Add To List
cover_9781524751890
cover_9781524708696
Author: Amor Towles
Release Date: September 06, 2016
“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” Ann Patchett

“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance.
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780735288546
Add To List
cover_9781524708696
cover_9781524736309
Author: Colson Whitehead
Release Date: August 02, 2016
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia.
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781524736279
Add To List
cover_9781524736309
cover_9780451482112
Author: Helen Simonson
Release Date: March 22, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781101888599
Add To List
cover_9780451482112
cover_9780804194617
Author: Erik Larson
Release Date: March 10, 2015
#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania


On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551648
Add To List
cover_9780804194617
cover_9780739327364
Author: Fannie Flagg
Release Date: November 05, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The one and only Fannie Flagg, beloved author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, and I Still Dream About You, is at her hilarious and superb best in this new comic mystery novel about two women who are forced to reimagine who they are.
List Price: $85.50
ISBN: 9780385367202
Add To List
cover_9780739327364
cover_9780804149433
Author: Jo Baker | Narrator: Emma Fielding
Release Date: October 08, 2013

Pride and Prejudice was only half the story •
 
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804149433
Add To List
cover_9780804149433
cover_9780385368285
Author: Rainbow Rowell | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra
Release Date: February 26, 2013
Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet.
Shallow, confused, then dead.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780385368285
Add To List
cover_9780385368285
cover_9780307879837
Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 29, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From award-winning author Alan Bradley comes the next cozy British mystery starring intrepid young sleuth Flavia de Luce, hailed by USA Today as “one of the most remarkable creations in recent literature.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780307879837
Add To List
cover_9780307879837
cover_9780307990785
Author: P. D. James
Release Date: December 06, 2011
A rare meeting of literary genius. P. D. James, long among the most admired mystery writers of our time, draws the characters of Jane Austen’s beloved novel Pride and Prejudice into a tale of murder and emotional mayhem.
 
It is 1803, six years since Elizabeth and Darcy embarked on their life together at Pemberley, Darcy’s magnificent estate.
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780449011188
Add To List
cover_9780307990785
cover_9780739378144
Author: Erik Larson
Release Date: May 17, 2011
“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review
  
Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the bestselling author of Devil in the White City turns his hand to a remarkable story set during Hitler’s rise to power.
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780307914606
Add To List
cover_9780739378144
cover_9780307879677
Author: Deborah Wiles | Narrator: Emma Galvin
Release Date: January 11, 2011
Franny Chapman just wants some peace. But that’s hard to get when her best friend is feuding with her, her sister has disappeared, and her uncle is fighting an old war in his head. Her saintly younger brother is no help, and the cute boy across the street only complicates things.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780307879677
Add To List
cover_9780307879677