historical fiction 38 Results
Sort By: Show format: CD Download Large Print
Show per page Page of 4
cover_9781524751890
Author: Jennifer Ryan
Release Date: February 14, 2017
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A delightful debut.”—People 

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781524721367
Add To List
cover_9781524751890
cover_9781524708696
Author: Amor Towles
Release Date: September 06, 2016
“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” Ann Patchett

“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance.
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780735288546
Add To List
cover_9781524708696
cover_9781524736309
Author: Colson Whitehead
Release Date: August 02, 2016
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia.
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9781524736279
Add To List
cover_9781524736309
cover_9780451482112
Author: Helen Simonson
Release Date: March 22, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9781101888599
Add To List
cover_9780451482112
cover_9780804194617
Author: Erik Larson
Release Date: March 10, 2015
#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania


On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780553551648
Add To List
cover_9780804194617
cover_9780739327364
Author: Fannie Flagg
Release Date: November 05, 2013
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The one and only Fannie Flagg, beloved author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, and I Still Dream About You, is at her hilarious and superb best in this new comic mystery novel about two women who are forced to reimagine who they are.
List Price: $85.50
ISBN: 9780385367202
Add To List
cover_9780739327364
cover_9780804149433
Author: Jo Baker | Narrator: Emma Fielding
Release Date: October 08, 2013

Pride and Prejudice was only half the story •
 
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $45
ISBN: 9780804149426
Add To List
cover_9780804149433
cover_9780449807897
Author: Max Brooks | Narrator: Various
Release Date: May 14, 2013

  World War Z. The Complete Edition (Movie Tie-in Edition). An Oral History of the Zombie War is a new version of Max Brooks' episodic zombie novel. The abridged versions of the original stories are now joined with new, unabridged recordings of the episodes that were not included in the original (abridged) version of the audiobook.

Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $40
ISBN: 9780449807897
Add To List
cover_9780449807897
cover_9780804121064
Author: Dan Brown
Release Date: May 14, 2013
NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

With the publication of his groundbreaking novels The Da Vinci Code, The Lost Symbol, and Angels & Demons, Dan Brown has become an international bestselling sensation, seamlessly fusing codes, symbols, art, and history into riveting thrillers that have captivated hundreds of millions of readers around the world.
List Price: $95
ISBN: 9780804128797
Add To List
cover_9780804121064
cover_9780385368285
Author: Rainbow Rowell | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra
Release Date: February 26, 2013
Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet.
Shallow, confused, then dead.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $50
ISBN: 9780385368285
Add To List
cover_9780385368285
cover_9780307879837
Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 29, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From award-winning author Alan Bradley comes the next cozy British mystery starring intrepid young sleuth Flavia de Luce, hailed by USA Today as “one of the most remarkable creations in recent literature.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $35
ISBN: 9780307879837
Add To List
cover_9780307879837
cover_9780449013885
Author: Bobbie Pyron | Narrator: Chuck Carrington and Emily Eiden
Release Date: June 26, 2012
Daddy says, “Most folks got a north star in their life—something that gives their life extra meaning. Mine is music.”
Without even thinking, I say, “Mine is Tam.”
 
Abby knows that Tam, her Shetland sheepdog, is her north star, and she’s pretty certain she’s his, too.
Play Clip: ncnhcn
List Price: $39
ISBN: 9780449013885
Add To List
cover_9780449013885